Brazilian Jiujitsu Competition Training Log #3: Injuries

in #bjj7 years ago

Week 2 of our competition training is almost done. Injuries have been popping up and while it sucks that you can't do a hundred percent, a good thing about is that ability to focus on the weak parts of your game. Pain can be a great ally if we make it. I have a injury from not tapping early on a leg lock. Now I have to put more effort on my A game for it to be effective. Of course I try to get as much rest as I can but it's not an excuse to stop training. I'm trying to do drills which does not involve my injury. Slowing down rolls as much as I can while not giving away position like flattening my back during half guard which I tend to do. Things like underhooks also make a huge difference. Overall I just need to stay positive and look at the good side of things. From experience I know this injury will sort itself out in about a week so until then I just need to keep coming in and keep working on my gameplan.

steemit-bjj.jpg

Previous training log entries:

Sort:  

I'm coming off a two-month hiatus due to a badly torn MCL and then I came down with cellulitis from an open cut. I totally feel your frustration with that. Which Leglock were you injured by?

A straight ankle lock but some how it strained my lower shin. Right now it only hurts when it gets hit, so no shin-to-shin guard for me.

Ouch man, sorry to hear about that. Hopefully it's just a sprain and not a tear. As much as you want to keep going and compete I hope you don't do so if you tore something. Risking a greater injury which puts you out for a far longer time (partial tear turning into full tear) or possibly not regaining full mobility is something to really take seriously. You may have missed the moment to respect that leg lock but you still have time to respect the injury if it's serious. :)

Hopefully it's not and you heal well enough to compete!

Seems like it's not that serious. It's been getting better everyday. Just enough to make me think twice about doing certain movements.

Great to hear man. Good luck with the camp and competition. Kick some ass!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51