Bittrex acting super shady. 1250SBD in limbo for over an hour.

in #bittrex8 years ago (edited)

EDIT -- although their actions at the time, and the dependencies described herein, caused me to doubt Bittrex's honesty at the time I wrote this, those doubts have since been assuaged been assuaged by by subsequent dialouge.

I made a withdrawal for $500 from my bittrex account to my steem account. The withdrawal went from proccessing to completed, had a transaction ID as well as my correct username (which i can see on the completed transaction, so theres no chance i mistyped). I never recieved the transaction. the tx id was c6076e47965865d0006e3daf14bd81d07841f3fb which shows up no where on the steem blockchain.

I made a second withdrawal while waiting for the CS to respond, and that $500 went through fine, in seconds.

My third withdrawal for 750 SBD is stuck in pending....

So i withdrew a total of 1750 sbd from my bittrex account, but, thus far, 1250 is unaccounted for.

I submitted a CS ticket (the only way to get in contact with them) over an hour and 10 mins ago. The only response was that my problem was "being escalated" about an hour ago.

I just found out i live about two blocks from them, i should go down there and demand my money.

Personally, id be really careful about this exchange...
()

Sort:  

Absolutely everything that Bittrex does is by the books and completely transparent. I can assure you they are the very last exchange that would ever intentionally cause harm or do wrong by anyone for the sake of profit, no matter how big or small. They almost always respond to tickets within 24 hours. You're welcome to join the bittrex Slack team. Maybe one of the guys on there will be active and able to look into the situation.

To get an invite to there slack you can go to: http://slack.bittrex.com

Sorry, within 24 hours isnt good enough when they havent sent a wd that they say they already sent. Theyre here, theyre sending transfers. One of their owners basically blew me off when i sent in my support ticket.
I might just go down to their offices by an insane coincidence, i live like 3 blocks form their office.

Really. Bill was just in slack looking for you. Even invited you to get a beer. I need to ask this question. If it were any of the other exchanges do you think you would even have gotten a response this quick? or at all? The exchange devs are not robots. they have lives, hobbies, and a crapload of support tickets to handle daily. If you have to complain about a 24 hour turnaround you really should take all your money, stuff it into your mattress and get out of crypto.
Don't make accusations about an exchange when you don't immediately get your way. Issues occur and they will not be solved after 3 minutes of it happening. This only enforces the stereotype that most crypto traders have the attention span of a goldfish.
Calm down don't panic and always carry a towel.

If i point out that bill basically said i was completely right, and you were completely wrong, are you just going to argue and be condescending?

And, im not complaining about 24 hour turnaround. Im complaining about there being a discrepancy at all. THats kind of the whole point of a blockchain.

And also and also, the 24 hours thing is suppositious. You assume its going to be 24 hours.

Bittrex have a lot of customers and they do not have unlimited time/resources. Be patient. In my experience Bittrex actually has the FASTEST support of all the exchanges, I usually get tickets resolved in 1-3 hours, Poloniex takes more like 2-5 days. So the customer support at Bittrex is expectional when compared to other exchanges.

I share your frustrations in having money locked up, but there's really no reason to fret over it. Just remember that crypto is play money and you shouldn't trade what you can not afford to lose.

let me make sure i understand your point. Youre saying that there are so many errors happening, that theres a 24 hour line tto get them all corrected? And thats supposed to make people feel better, because at least its not a week.

What I want to know is, how did you manage to get these two post you've made about bittrex into /trending when they have nearly $0.00 and very few upvotes?

That's the money making tip you need to be posting about. ;)

I can't share that secret its cutting edge technology (i think its becasue theyre new and its not a very active tag)

Upvoted :)

two hours and still no response @bittrex-richie is the person to whom my case has allegedly been escalated.

I posted in the other thread, but i guess ill post in this one too. They after several hours one of the withdrawals ended up getting here and the other one gets canceled. If anyone wants to buy like 37btc worth of steem and steem dollars at 90% reply. If you trust bittrex its basically free money.

hope you have back your SBD dude

Hi everyone. This problem is not limited to Bittrex. There are legitimate technical challenges being faced by the Bittrex and Blocktrades teams. We are working with them to resolve the issue as fast as possible and improve your experience. Thanks for your patience. We know personally how hard the Bittrex team is working to make sure your experience is great and Steem is successful on their exchange. Thank you all.

thats what i love here, transparency!

Bittrex is amazing, and is one of the primary reasons I discovered Steem.
I must say I agree with Ned in that it must be technical problems, I doubt there's any ill intent on their part, nor do I doubt they have to steal 1250, as they get 0.25% for all transactions anyhow.
Though I do understand it can be annoying to have your funds locked up, so I feel for you there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52