Bitshares - Where to keep them?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitshares7 years ago

I have quite a few BTS in my Bittrex account. Bittrex are delisting them on 13 October 2017 for some arb, as far as I know UNDISCLOSED reason .


Image Source

I want to hang onto these for a while so where can I transfer them to? Some advice /guidance would be much appreciated

Sort:  

Hi,

Bitshares is actually a decentralized exchange, so the safest place to store them is actually on the Bitshares DEX (DEcentralized eXchange). Simply create an account there and withdraw from Bittrex, and you'll be able to trade them, deposit other coins, withdraw and even borrow!

I'll second this. That's strange that bittrex is delisting them though.

Thanks for the feedback . I did try register last night but when getting to the final stage it just hung. I tried IE and Chrome (only two browsers I have on my Windows 10 PC)... {sob}

Oh. They just updated their registration page last night. Might want to try again. Chrome works perfectly fine. Occasionally a problem that I've faced myself is that the node it connects to is not very active (it needs to connect to a node since its the blockchain and not a server), but this is quickly fixed if you open the DEX again: https://bitshares.org/wallet/

Sorry, do you know what is going on at Bitshares? I tried to get to my account for a while but in vain. When I try to log in I get the the message: You do not have a local wallet yet. What can I do?

Good luck! I am looking for additional wallet options also.

I like openledger.io but I can't seem to figure out how to deposit BTS

Depositing bts is so simple it is rediculous. Enter your account name and when sending to your acc no memo is necessary.

Download bitshares wallet, they have pretty good exchange there
https://bitshares.org/

Thanks, will check it out.

Boy am I struggling. The tutorial and the actual wallet does not match. I cannot for the life of me find the 'backup wallet' option. Any ideas?

You don't need a backup in the default configuration. All you need is a beefy password. You can if you like create a wallet model. They changed it recently due to people having problems with it.

Bittrex are delisting them on 13 October 2017 for some arb, as far as I know UNDISCLOSED reason .

Mmmmm interesting.. I have never owned a single Bitshare, but I wonder why they are being delisted..?

Nice to see you posting! :)

Thanks.... I took a single punt... and it has done nothing but gone down since then. So shall just keep them for a few months

It already exists his way, good luck my good friend.

Yep get them off or loose them

You can send them to Poloniex. I am very curious about Bitshares DEX Exchange. Also, you can put it in a wallet. I am long in BTS and expect a lot to offer in future.

Poloniex is notorious for suspending BTS & STEEM deposits/withdrawals for prolonged periods of time, without any explanations.

They banned my IP temporarily, multiple times. Bittrex is much better.

Thanks for the response and info. I am not a Poloniex fan ... so will explore other options first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40