Problem restoring my bitshares wallet (Openledger)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitshares7 years ago

openl.jpg

I select the file, bts_default.bin, but it doesn't like my password, carefully kept in a little paper notebook in my pocket.

PEBCAK or hack?

Are there security problems with either openledger or with bitshares itself?

Sort:  

You should also check the light-wallet app and https://bitshares.org/wallet – Create a separate profile for this purpose...

and besides you should have :

  1. bin file backup + password (and SHA1 Hash) saved somewhere
  2. brainkey backup
  3. two priv keys – Owner and Active / per account

I made the account back last August, new to crypto. I have the bin file, and wrote down the password, but the password doesn't work several browsers, and I tried the light-wallet a couple of weeks ago - same problem. The balance is still in the account, so I'm at a loss. I also tried logging in in account mode.

Thank you for your reply.

Please try the light wallet or bitshares.org/wallet also, if thst doesn't work there are three possibilities imo: either you wrote down the password wrong, or you're typing it wrong, or you're using the wrong bin file.

I've just tried the latest light wallet, again with no luck. The funds are still in the account, so my guess is I mistyped the password when I set it. I will hope for an inspirational dream. Thanks for your reply.

I've found the password (the pin for the backup, different to the account password I first used on openledger?). The backup is accepted, on both openledger and with bitshares-light_2.0.170522_amd64.deb,
but now it seems to be hanging without loading the wallet. How long should it take?

openledger.jpg

Nothing happens when I click RESTORE (DEFAULT WALLET).

Thanks for your help.

perhaps do a history clean up .... reinstall soft ... plug in password ....

@indepthstory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66