Just Bought My First Bitshares Using BlockTrades

in #bitshares7 years ago

Screenshot from 2017-09-03 02-00-23.png

Diversifying Crypto-holdings with money earned on Steemit

Even though I have been interested in Bitcoin for a long time, I haven't actually been a holder of crypto-currencies until June of this year. I decided it was time to take action instead of just watching from the sidelines.

Earlier, I bought a small amount of Bitcoin with money that I'd earned here on Steemit.

Bitshares

I've been wanting to know more about trading and the decentralized exchange that Bitshares offers is very appealing to me... but I have a lot to learn. I figured I'd get started by using @blocktrades to buy some Bitshares with a small amout of SBD that I'd earned on Steemit.

Screenshot from 2017-09-03 02-07-45.png

So now I have about 5.8 Bitshares.

Now what?

Well, I'm diversifying. But I'd like to learn more about trading and develop a strategy. Hopefully more research into Bitshares will help me do that. One strategy I'd like to experiment with is to choose two coins that I'd like to have and then trade back and forth between them for 5 percent gains. Since I'd like to hold both coins, I'd be okay with staying in a coin and holding the position if one coin fell below another coin and didn't come back for a while.

I don't have any experience in this, but I'd like to try and see what happens.

Why Bitshares?

Well, I really like Steemit and Bitshares is built by the same people, with @dan Larimer as the Visionary and Architect. I'm also interested in EOS, but that may be too new for me to actively participate in. Bitshares is about right and I like a lot of the concepts I've read about while researching it (even if I don't fully understand). The concept of a decentralized company is very interesting to me and I hope to learn more about it.

For now, I've obtained my first couple Bitshares and I'll figure out how to use the Decentralized Exchange to make some trades.

If you have experience with trading, I'm interested in your perspective. If you know of any great resources for beginning traders, please share them in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

--- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

Bitshares hasnt done much lately. It will rise again. Just HODL. Bitshares gets overlooked alot but imo its great

Thanks for your comment!

I'm also thinking of just using a percentage of my earned SBDs to purchase Bitshares and holding. I also really like Bitshares. The ideas and the implementation seem great (from the research I've done). I also think it has a good future.

A free tip:

Instead of feeding using blocktrades, use openledger and transfer for free.

Then buy your bts or whatever you fancy.

Thanks for the tip. I'll check out openledger. I haven't yet, but had heard about it.

Nice post! I am doing similar, slowly diversifying between STEEM, BTS and a few other coins.

No plans to trade as I have neither the technical or financial knowledge to succeed - as you probably know, most people fail at trading.

But I do have the patience to buy them now and forget about them for a few years, at which point they will hopefully be worth a lot more than current prices

Cheers

Holbein81

Thanks for your comment!

I'm also a believer in holding and will definitely be doing that with Steem Power. I've read a little, and recent posts by @hilarski have made me interested in experimenting with trading.

sweet!

Thanks for commenting @doitvoluntarily

I'm really seeing the potential of Bitshares. I haven't done any trading inside the DEX yet, but I hope to learn how to do that soon.

Thanks for sharing this Matt will try to learn this also. Since you mentioned EOS in your blog what do you think of them now? I mean is it worth investing?

I have been trading EOS back and forth with Bitshares to gain more Bitshares. I like the concept of EOS, though, and I think it has great potential. It's still in it's year long ICO phase right now.

I see. I also think it has great potential that is why i am keeping an eye on it.

I am doing this on Coinbase with Bitcoin, Ethereum and a Litecoin... they show hourly, daily, weekly charts and I buy $20 of whichever one is down the most compared to the other 2 .... with this method I have turned $300 into $900 in 2 months..... https://www.coinbase.com/join/592749dc269d7a03d41b8c27

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50