The Old Dog Explains: Why I Exchanged Bitcoin For Bitshares

in #bitshares7 years ago (edited)

I have long been an admirer of Bitshares and have followed the project since its inception. As many of you know Bitshares was the brain child of Dan Larimer and Steemit was built on the technology that he developed for Bitshares. 




Disclaimer: This is not financial advice.

The fact is that many insiders and tech experts have long considered Bitshares to be a sleeping giant just waiting to take off. There are several indications that Bitshares is about to do just that!

Why so Much Optimism About Bitshares?

  • The CEO of Cryptonomex (the company that developed Graphene that Bitshares, Steem and other blockchains are based upon) has been greatly increasing his personal holdings in the last little while! 
  • The much anticipated Stealth (which allows anonymous transactions) is about to be launched on the testnet and will soon be available.
  • Last week the Bitshares network was stress tested and has already attained 3,300 transactions per second! The next stress test will be aiming much higher!

If you want to know more about Bitshares there are many excellent articles posted right here on Steemit!

Uncertainty Over Bitcoin

With the uncertainty over whether or not Bitcoin will fork into two different currencies I decided to exchange 1 Bitcoin for Bitshares. I see very little possible downside to Bitshares but the possibility of a huge upside. I am buying and holding as I have been doing for several years now.


I hope that you enjoyed reading about my optimism over Bitshares!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

As soon as more exchanges start using it as their back-end...you'll see...
giphy (1).gif

"This Summer!"

Thanks for the cool gif!

This title caught my eye, I made a note to come back today and check this out.

TY for the post sir.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

One of the best things about it, is that Blockpay token is traded on Bitshares DEX. I consider Blockpay to be one of the things that might bring cryptos to widespread adoption. :-)

You sound like a very knowledgeable dude (ie. in the know)!

Thank you. I actually have Steem to thank for that. Thats what got me into the world of crypto. 5 months, one SteemFest later I am running my own witness node for Golos, and participating in some cool crypto projects involving bitshares (and something else as well).

I myself consider @kingscrown (who does a lot of posts about crypto) and @steempower (who does weekly Bitshares State of the Network posts) and of course @officialfuzzy (who runs Beyond Bitcoin, which is uber-cool) to be knowledgable. Hope I didn't miss anyone. In fact both Steemit has a thriving Bitshares community, but also there is a Bitshares Telegram Channel. I urge you to check it out, since it is a good time to keep an eye on Bitshares (especially if either the current pump is over, and it isn't), besides DEX is really cool, and there is a ton of stuff in the pipeline (hopefully some marketing too!). Still it is best to learn about things before using/investing.

After some thought I decided that it might be also good idea to shamelessly plug the thing that I am part of, that is @blockchained, we have a Steemit witness too!

Edit: typos & shameless @blockchained plug. :-D

Thanks for this info!

Yes I agree. I also hold Blockpay and I had the pleasure of meeting their team in Munich.

I think I will buy more BTS too! I will hold them tight as I hold my steem! Great article Old Dog! Thank you very much for this information!

Thanks for the support @the-future!

You made me realize how important BTS is and it's great to hear from you and @oneuponatime that you both invested in BTS. It makes me do the same, soon I make some money for investment only. I will not do stupid things to invest more than I can't afford.

Good points. For me it's just a little diversification.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Man, if i had money, Bitshares is where I'd put it right now! Thanks for pointing out what needs to be said and understood. It is not only a giant, it is the seed of all giants right now! Good for you for investing into and giving us heads-up on the matter of its creator's investments. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thanks Mr. Encourager! I hope that all is well in beautiful B.C.

Thanks a bunch, Northern B.C. has been smiling at me for quite a while and is still doing so quite easily. Namaste :)

I agree with the facts that you have sited and we've been buying bitshares because we feel it is a good opportunity.

Who really knows what will happen but it is good to diversify.

Agreed. There is a palpable energy around bitshares...felt the same way about Dash a few months ago, but didn't buy in. Bitshares feels even better to us...time will tell Old Dog. ;)

nice post.
Resteem.!!
@kus-knee

Buy in thirds...
Sell in thirds...
"thirds rule strategy"

Ever since you explained all your 1/3's rules to me, I have been thinking about it daily pretty much, true story.

Eventually "thirds rule strategy" will sink in not only on Google

I'm drilling that into my thick skull!

HODL. Perhaps a good move if ur a daytrader. If not, I doubt you'd be unhappy money wise if a fork happens if ur a holder. Short term perhaps, but long term I doubt it'll matter

Good point!

The CEO of Bitshares has been greatly increasing his personal holdings in the last little while!

What CEO? There is no.

My bad, slip of the fingers. I've already edited it. Thanks!

thx for the insights. also considering adding bitshares to my altcoin portfolio.
Go BTS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63