Information Overload

in #bitshares6 years ago

Do you ever feel overwhelmed with how much information is out there at our digital fingertips? Usual waking hours be damned, I could easily stay up late into the night learning some new fact or lesson from history. Knowledge is intoxicating.

People must have been through this experience before. The printing press had a big impact on human development. The ability to interact with another being across space and time is the kernel of value that the internet continues on today.

What does this have to do with crypto? I'm really starting to dislike that term because I don't think people know what cryptography is. If you know a better/more user friendly term for this movement please let me know. The cryptoasset movement is about continuing all the benefits of our interconnected world but offering users to opportunity to capture the network value for themselves. It is a redefinition of commerce. I think cooperation is a more interesting than competition.

Sort:  

Half of my troubles are probably due to information overload. As the time passes I am becoming a 'skimmer' rather than a 'reader' in my attempts to just to try to keep up.

Also - I am actually not all that uncomfortable with the term crypto. In fact it holds a certain pun that might attract some free souls who don't believe in taxes..... just kidding :-)

On the other hand I can actually feel the need of getting a new name for our beloved decentralized currencies, since it could be a bit of a problem when we enter the mass adoption phase. I actually like to think of Bitcoin/altcoins as 'De-Cent' from the term decentralized.

Forty years ago, my dream was to buy an Encyclopedia Britannica. All the knowledge was condensed there and it would be in my hands. I finally bought it and I was astonished by its size. It took a long time to be used to so much information...
Today much more information is available but most of the people don't notice it , because they take it for granted. The few, like you, that think about it, feel overwelmed.

Very wise for seeking the Encyclopedia. Now information spreads at a multiple of the speed those years.

Did you learn information about Coins & Sovereigns in those resources?

Yes, a little. Most of what I know about coins was learned in specialized literature (books and magazines about coins). I used the Encyclopedia to answer my questions and, for many times, to learn random subjects. I used to pick one of the volumes and open in a random page, reading from this page on...To me, a very fun way to learn.

Everyone thought it was impossible for anything to be "Faster then the Speed of Light"... Can you think of what might be "much" faster...??? I call it the Speed of Sight... My Sight can travel from one Star to another Distant Star in an instant... It doesn't get much faster than that... lol...

I think you may be speaking poetically. Do you mean to say you see far ahead w/ the Pocket Change Theory?

No... I was actually speaking about the Speed of Sight... How long would it take for Light to travel from One Star to a Distant Star...??? I say the Speed of Sight is much faster than the Speed of Light... In a way, I do see things differently than most people... Well, I see the same things as anyone, but my interpretation is somewhat different... It's not easy to explain... There was an event, many years ago, that changed everything... Don't ask, because that's even harder to explain...

Hmm that is interesting. I learned once that the speed of sight was equivalent to the speed of light (maybe a little slower due to optical/neuron processing. But I will think about it a bit more - I see tremendously value (and risk) in interpreting things/events differently than the mass of people...

But now you have me curious, this event... or more accurately what made you change your perspective.

It's kind of like, once your eyes open, there's no going back...

Information Overload ... I guess many are now born with it, books and libraries used to be the most appreciably large source of information. Nowadays, surviving our world practically revolves on the ability to filter information ... that's still better than the alternative, which is prohibition of information and censorship ...

I am never bored. There is so much to learn and experience. I figured out how to format video correctly for Dtube today...One more thing!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85