BTS token: POWTOKEN

in #bitshares6 years ago

This post is dedicated to @farmerd. For those who don't know I created a BitShares asset called POWTOKEN. The idea was inspired after learning about whaletokens over on WhaleShares. Although the idea here is a bit different. I recognize that the way the people get information is changing. I wanted to create a true 'proof-of-brain' token where I would back the tokens redemption with my own cognitive effort. I coveted to write about any topic such redeemer requested. @farmerd was the first to redeem this token and his request was: "A day in the life of JohnR".

09/21/18 . This is a 'free day' because I have yet to begin work at my law firm.

0701: I wake up in the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A quiet morning: I only counted two police sirens blaring below me as I focus my thoughts and enter full consciousness.

0705: I grind coffee beans I purchased on this coffee farm in Colombia.
IMG_20180826_154858546 (1).jpg

I reflect on how the average wage for a coffee bean farmer is 900 pesos/kg. The bag in my hands costs 72,000 pesos/kg. I think about the disparity of value that labor represents to my morning coffee. As a white collar service professional I wonder how much exactly I have in common with the men who picked these beans. I understand that labor is projected to capture an ever diminishing proportion of value creation in the developed world. After a few sips of caffeinated brew I am able to better compartmentalize this issue as I begin to contemplate my day. Older friends and family tell me this compartmentalization ability develops as one gets older. I’m not sure this is a good thing.

0730: I walk to the Soldiers and Sailors Memorial between my apartment and Riverside Park. Drinking my coffee is a serene experience as I look across the Hudson River at the contiguous United States.

soldiers and sailors.jpg

0805: I seek to read for two hours each morning. This morning I am reading Psychological Types of Carl Jung. I recommend it if you are curious about what makes people tick.
psych types.jpg

1030: Eat half a bagel smothered with sunflower butter in anticipation of the day’s workout. I enjoy resistance training and seek to maximize the muscular force I can deploy in the compound movements: squat, deadlift, bench press, over head press.
arnold gym.jpg
Squad goals

1215: Return home, shower, drink a protein shake.

1300-1630: Log on to email, telegram, and discord to catch up on messages from the night before. I am very excited about joining the BitShares committee so I will carry on some of the great conversations with colleagues there.
bts apple.jpg
Some of the cool people I talk to include
@murda-ra
@clockwork
@xeroc
@Jbahai
@jademont
@ronnyb

1745-2130: Head towards dinner in midtown with my girlfriend. We meet another couple and have a good evening walking around Chelsea and exploring new bars. I am a pretty introverted guy, so about halfway I am looking forward to some alone time to read my books and think about BitShares.
chelsea nyc.jpg

2200: Evening rituals and contemplating what I will do the next day.

Thanks for reading and taking an interest in leveraging digital bearer instruments (tokens) in creative ways.

Sort:  

Hi @john-robert, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @jbahai and @ronnyb don't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @jabha and @ronnya ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

INSPIRATIONAL POST LOVED IT HOPING TO SEE MORE
GUYSSS DO FOLLOW ME TO GET AMAMZING FOOD BENEFITS I AM A FOOD BLOGGER AND GET UNKNOWN FACTS

Source
Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

More Information:

The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

You got 94.80% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

It is interesting to know about your daily life. You asked me what I knew about whaleshares and my answer is: nothing. When you have time, let's talk on discord. Tell me an hour and day and I will be there. Cheers!

Thanks friend. I truly enjoyed this. You are living a life very different from mine, but I see from your reflections that we share similar thoughts.

I am inspired by your dedication to reading, I like to read but have found as my family / farm life takes allmost all my time I almost never read. I think I will start small, just at least half an hour a day. Thanks for the inspiration.

Oh and I'm curious, what kind of law will you be practicing? My younger brother is a lawyer with eco-justice, have you heard of them? They are, obviously, an environmental law firm.

It is certainly possible for people to lead similar lives in different settings, if that makes sense. Let me know what you read - I am always curious. There must be some great books about farming - The Farmers Almanac was once one of the most widely read publications!

That is awesome about your brother, where (geographically) does he work? I am definitely working in a less karmically rewarding practice area - creating and maintaining investment funds...

I hope you don't lose respect for me based on that!

Lol, of course not, I don't even know what that means, other than it has to do with markets (I think) I find markets endlessly fascinating and would like to learn more about what you do. Ummm, now if only I had another POWTOKEN 😉 haha. I'm no saint and neither is my enviro lawyer bicycle riding vegetarian brother. he's in Vancouver btw.

None of us are saints. We're human!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63707.69
ETH 3433.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53