Buy EOS Tokens with BTS

in #bitshares7 years ago
  1. Visit https://wallet.bitshares.org/?r=billbutler
  2. Buy some BTS
  3. Click on the Exchange Tab
  4. Navigate to the BTS / OPEN.EOS Market
  5. Place a bid and purchase some OPEN.EOS

purchase_eos.gif

Sort:  

Nice post bill,keep it up.I upvoted your post.I am following you.

Nice post @billbutler ! I upvoted you. Can you check my last blog posts
https://steemit.com/@alirajput

It's difficult hard to not see this as a "click my referral link" promo. I thought this type of stuff was frowned upon, no? :(

https://bitshares.org/referral-program/

If you steemit doesn't what people upvoting their own posts, then remove the option. I upvote my posts because I can.

Everyone can upvote their stuff, sure. I do sometimes to try to work my way up on a comment list to get the attention of an author or upvote my post as a minnow to try to stand out slightly on the new posts. However, I was only talking about self-upvoting to the other commenter.

Now seeing two comments self-upvoted 100% (which could've been just one edited comment), I'm left wondering why you wouldn't also share the rewards pool with the commenter who clearly supported you. The option is there and you can. That's the type of thought process that generally frustrates me - and I'm just venting when I see it. ...Someone upvoted your post, engaged me on your blog in your general defense, and you upvoted two of your replies, and not them.

No need to debate anything further. We've both made our points. I'm very curious about EOS and appreciate steps on how to buy it, but just had my opinion about pasting links in with referrals attached without explicitly mentioning it so people can be aware.

Why in the world would I throw away a referral opportunity?

What's wrong with referral links on your own posts? I think it's when you post comment on other people's posts that's frowned upon.

Two schools of thought, of which you're obviously in the other. Same goes for upvoting yourself 100% on the majority of your recent comments.

Hi,

I just tried it on my Bitshares account and although the interface is slightly different, it seems to have worked well. But 2 questions if I may:

  1. In the 'Confirm Transaction' box I had it like you at "1.000000" in the "Buy at least" box, but then later when it bought, it shows only 0.999040 in my Account balance next to "gdex.EOS". Is this normal? Because of the fee?

  2. Once I have EOS, I do need to "CLAIM / REGISTER" them on the blockchain, don't I?

For this, would it be best for me to first try to "match" it in MyEtherWallet and then claim it according to:

or like described in here: http://support.exodus.io/article/65-register-eos

Or, is there a way to "claim/register" it directly in the Bitshares Wallet/Account? If so, where can I learn how to do this?

Sorry for all the questions, as this is a bit confusing.

But thanks and I really like your animated buy procedure above. So awesome and easy to follow.

Strange. I tried upvoting you but it's not showing any amount.

Never mind, I see this post is almost a year old...

Were you involved in the ICO phase? If so, then you should follow step 6 that is posted below because OpenLedger probably technically owns your EOS if you don't. (Your keys your coins, not your keys, not your coins) I haven't checked if this has been changed since the opening of the EOS blockchain in June so maybe this is no longer the case.

If you weren't involved in the ICO, you'll want to set up a wallet on the EOS blockchain directly.

The discrepancy might be the transaction fee if it was measured in bitshares (other tokens are sometimes used if you get back change). When you buy on bitshares, you'll typically go through several sources to find other users willing to sell to you. If you buy a large enough amount, then it's unlikely that their sell price is the same throughout.

I'd like to add one important last step...

  1. Visit https://wallet.bitshares.org/?r=billbutler
  2. Buy some BTS
  3. Click on the Exchange Tab
  4. Navigate to the BTS / OPEN.EOS Market
  5. Place a bid and purchase some OPEN.EOS.
  6. Send your EOS to the EOS blockchain where you hold your own keys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67