Will Blockchain Guru Dan Larimer Be Called In To Save Ethereum As Crypto Kitties Grinds ETH Chain To A Halt? The Irony.

in #bitshares7 years ago (edited)


Dan Larimer is a genius basically.

I've said it many times. So as many know, but the newer people may not -- he founded / created 3 of the top crypto projects in the entire Top 30 on CoinMarketCap.com.

This includes Bitshares, Steemit, and now the EOS project. I will include info for Dan's EOS.io project at the end.

Here's a graphic of what Dan has founded/invented/developed as he seeks to help humanity secure:

Life/Liberty/Property.



Here is the TLDR of what I am getting at -- half joking and well, half serious.

Crypto Kitties.

Collection of Digital Cats has ground the ETH network to a crawl in terms os speed and transaction cost -- and these cats have been out less than a week.

Is this a clear case for Dan's projects like Bitshares and EOS as the latest business/use case???

--


I am just going to let you read these screenshots quickly here, from the site itself, it is pretty self explanatory.


Now, another irony in all this, is that Dan likes cats.




https://www.cryptokitties.co/


TLDR:


The deal is that now this game has taken off the last week, it is taking up nearly ~20% of the ETH network traffic, grinding things to a halt, and has shot up the cost for ETH transactions IMMENSELY.

To me, it is showing the ETH network is not currently scaleable -- meaning the network cannot handle or scale -- accordingly to large amounts of transactions or network loads.

Look at the price / numbers for $ETH the last 7 days, since this Cat thing started:

And I hold both ETH and EOS before you ask, I am a numbers guy, that is all.

I am a bit of a fan of Dan's too but he is a numbers guy too, right? LOL

Dan is using ETH to fund his EOS.io project, and to be clear -- it is aiming right at Ethereum, to disrupt it and there have been a lot of comparisons and contrasting (to be polite) opinions here, between him and ETH founder Vitalik Buterin and the other core ETH developers.


We are just getting started in crypto, the masses are not even close to being onboard yet and I am wondering if this is really the first or best example, of the ETH blockchain's bugs or flaws, or issues.


Will Vitalik call Dan for help?

That is ironic on so many levels.


As promised, here is what @dan / @dantheman is up to meow with EOS.io:

https://eos.io/


Just a portion of what I have written about regarding the Dan Larimer Effect, as I call it:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/dan-larimer-video-interview-on-epicenter-recently-this-is-a-must-watch-listen-an-in-depth-look-chat-about-his-past-crypto-life

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/dan-larimer-community-musical-tribute-post-a-music-video-to-say-thanks-and-best-wishes-to-our-steemit-co-founder

https://steemit.com/bitshares/@barrydutton/crypto-101-series-stan-larimer-the-godfather-of-bitshares-and-father-of-blockchain-liberty-genius-dan-larimer-interview-recently

https://steemkr.com/bitshares/@barrydutton/so-tether-project-was-hacked-another-use-case-for-bitshares-and-dan-larimer-blockchain-genius-which-remains-undervalued-and


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/a-decent-top-10-list-of-finance-sector-movies-to-watch-since-we-are-in-the-cryptocurrency-space-together

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/live-now-crypto-101-video-wcn-the-bitcoin-news-show-61-lightning-spec-1-0-sidechain-bip-bitfury-s-new-data-center-daily-stream

https://steemit.com/food/@barrydutton/color-challenge-wednesday-yellow-or-the-costco-pile-of-dad-s-cookies-not-great-for-us-with-gmo-ingredients-but-they-are-so-tasty

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/the-steemu-asks-what-are-you-blogging-about-today-or-e-37-or-drop-your-links-and-ideas-here-like-mad-pictures-thoughts-ideas-etc

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/investment-language-101-series-term-of-the-day-what-is-bitcoin-mining-or-e-20-or-trading-candle-cheat-sheet-incl-each-episode

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/investment-language-101-series-term-of-the-day-what-is-short-squeeze-or-e-19-or-trading-candle-cheat-sheet-incl-each-episode

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/cryptocurrency-on-hodl-what-are-you-hodl-g-today-3

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/breaking-today-we-saw-more-history-together-bitcoin-core-legacy-chain-etc-market-cap-crossed-the-usd200b-mark-for-the-first-time


Most stock Images / Gif's day to day usually via Giphy.com , ImgFlip, Funny or Die.com, Imgur.com, PixaBay unless otherwise noted, with thanks.

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, trying to build community, put out content and engage people, help and donate to people, and I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.



Sort:  

yep. I tell people the exact same thing, he's a blockchain genius.

of course, add 60 years of aging to his face and he'd look like the smoking man from the x-files, but that's not important, just amusing.

You always have something smart to say I am learning.

LOL

In Order to get Dan's help Vitalik will have to be able to set his EGO aside @barrydutton. Lots of times this is Very Hard for Geniuses to do...............

I know, it is on my mind also.

The Masses don’t even know what is actually going on with anything crypto! It’s All Crazy and just the beginnin.
MEOW I better get a really cat 🐱

I make some good points here I think right?

You are right.

I am allergic to cats, also not the bias for my thinking in this article LOL

but how soon can we play cryptokitties on EOS instead?

I rolled my eyes for the first 60 seconds or so, when I heard about this.

Then my blockchain brain kicked in.....

It is good for a lot of reasons, this game, showing value, cost of acquisition and holding value, it is a strong visual teaching aid for many reasons.

A good entry point as such for non techy people like me, actually and marries with the animal and collectible thing.

Tons of good things about this as I thought for a minute a few nights ago.

-- it also has exposed the issues with ETH here I discuss.

Hehe maybe indeed Dan can rescue cryptokitties. If I am not mistaken Vitalik has big stakes in EOS as well so maybe he has some pull power to get help from Dan

Interesting input from the other Dan here tonight LOL

Haha what can I say it's an awesome name ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67703.52
ETH 3449.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73