You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bits and Pieces - Trading the Alps and Grand Canyon

in #bitsandpieces6 years ago

You're very off base on the steemconnect rant. It's basically a tool sponsored by steemit inc. The idea is that you only ever trust steemconnect and if you trust that tool, you won't have to worry about every website requiring you to login and be able to empty your wallet. The active key permissions are required for the tool to work, but everything stays client side in your browser and the website you're logging into doesn't have the ability to get your key or anything.

Sort:  

You're very correct!

I have no problem with giving eSteem my active key (example)... If I notice that someone has started a power down, I can change the active and posting keys. I don't have much liquid cash in any one account. I was talkikng about the "asking for" an owner key. I use eSteem and they also ask for the owner key (if I remember right) but if you click advanced, you can get on line with the mobile app using posting and active.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45