After The Split: BCC and BCH

in #bitcoincash7 years ago

The Bitcoin split is behind us and an interesting times are upon us. Which coin will come on top? However something else has happend that at least for a moment confused me. This post is for those who like me missed some of the latest details or aren't that up to speed about the split.

BCH-.png

Following the Split

Like everyone interested in cryptocurrency I was anxiously tracking every bit of news about the Bitcoin split. With some friend we have a crypto group on Whatsapp to keep each other informed about the latest developments.
So when the new coin went live, I turned on my Blockfolio app to see how the new coin would do.

I typed in BCC for Bitcoin Cash and ....nothing. I then synced with the servers and voila, the new coin popped up and I put it on my watch list.
BCC was added with the tag Bitcoin Cash.

The confusion

If you are an experienced trader you might guessed my mistake.

In the whatsapp group my friends began to comment on how well the new coin was doing. Looking at Blockfolio I wasn't that much impressed because the coin was around $300. However the comments kept coming about how the coin was rising in value. Again I looked at my Blockfolio app and saw nothing spectacular.

When one of my friend wrote that the coin was selling for $800 on an exchange I started to sense that something was wrong. I checked Blockfolio but I was sure that I added Bitcoin Cash. I removed the coin and added it again to be sure but the outcome was the same. The coin was about $300 and instead of going up, the coin was going down, contrary to what my friends were messaging.

BCC is not BCH

That was when I messaged if Bitcoin Cash was BCC, because that was what the coin was called in all the articles that I read thus far. No, was the response I got, the Bitcoin Cash coin is BCH and not BCC. Apparently there already is a BCC coin called Bitcoin core, so BCC had to be changed to BCH. This change happend so quickly that a lot of sites are still referring to Bitcoin cash as BCC or BCC/BCH.
I added BCH to my Blockfolio and finally got the right price charts. However Blockfolio still has the BCC coin listed as Bitcoin cash. So now I have 2 listings of Bitcoin Cash, BCC and BCH.

Trading the wrong coin?

I wonder if there are people who made the same mistake as me or even worse bought Bitcoin core instead of Bitcoin cash.
However this is a clear indication that things may have gone a little bit too fast.

What are your thoughts on this matter, was it clear to you that BCC and BCH are two different coins?

classy signature.png

commented.png posts.png level.png payout.png votes.png

horizontal_line.png

Recent Posts
Highly Recommended!-Earn Free Coins!

horizontal_line.png

Sort:  

BCH Dropping right now :/

The battle between BTC and BCH is just beginning... But at the moment I don't thing that BTC going to drop soon and BCH blast off to the moon. However everything is possible in this crazy world of crypto.

the crypto ecnonomy is very unpredictable

Nice Post !! Thankyou !!

Thanks . I am glad I didn't buy BCC coins in my haste to make a quick buck only to find out I bought the wrong coins :)

Congratulations @xervantes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29