Bitcoin Cash on Coinbase!

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

In a surprise move, Coinbase enables full support for Bitcoin Cash on its platform earlier than expected.

Coinbase has not only enabled the release of Bitcoin Cash funds to pre-fork users, but has also enabled the full implementation of buying and selling Coinbase on its platform earlier than expected.

Originally, Coinbase had suggested future support for Bitcoin Cash coming in January of 2018. Today, Coinbase users can purchase Bitcoin Cash through the app.

This is sure to cause a large boost in the price of Bitcoin Cash as many casual buyers will try investing in the new iteration of Bitcoin.

image source:
www.trustnodes.com

Sort:  

I have free bitcoin cash right now in my coinbase account. I'm not complaining but what the? It says I have an odd amount of bitcoin cash. I'm assuming it will disappear soon :( anyone else see this? My coinbase account is about a year old if that's a clue.

You had Bitcoin in your account at the time of the fork on August 1 last summer. Whatever amount you had in Bitcoin, say for example, 0.5 BTC, you now have the same amount of Bitcoin Cash, so 0.5 BCH.

Wow! That sounds right. Thank you for the info and the good news!

You also have Bitcoin Gold and Bitcoin Diamond, by the way. You just have to sweep them to a compatible wallet.
https://coinsutra.com/claim-bitcoin-gold-btg/

Except I've been waiting for first ever real Christmas bonus and need to pay bills. Coinbase is (currently, please help me out if you know other ways to pay bills etc) the only direct way back to legacy banking I currently know of.. how else can I pay bills?

Thanks for informing us. Bitcoin Cash was running a bit the last days really nice

Hi Paul, first of all, thanks for your follow, you got mine too.

As to Coinbase, well I think they must have their own reasons for doing that earlier, who knows... In any case, this is BIG news for the whole crypto market. I have read somewhere that there are plans to add NEM to Coinbase, gosh, that would be very, very nice...

Really exciting! Looking at Coinmarketcap.com, it seems like everyone was buying Bitcoin Cash today ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43