What would you do if BTC reached $1M?

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

Source

On October 29, 2019, the Bitcoin Today, column by Satoshi Nakaboto, “Our Robot colleague,” at nextweb.com, mentions John McAfee’s, prediction that Bitcoin would be worth $1M by the end of 2020.

Further investigation of this claim led me back to 2017, and then to Forbes, which in a September 30, 2019 interview with McAfee, he states, that with bitcoins limited supply, and the number which have been lost, if bitcoin reached “5% of world financial transactions, which, you all know it will,” and then speculated even higher “maybe 10% or 20%,” that bitcoin could be worth “$10 million per coin, based on those numbers.”

In an interview with local crypto-enthusiast Chuck Bamata, he spontaneously answers the question:

“What would you do if BTC reached $1M?”

I would probably be close to suicidal, because I didn’t buy more when it was only $10K or even $50K or $500K

I would be afraid to spend it because it might go to $2M or even $10M.

I would have to get a prescription for Ambien, because of all the sleep I was losing worrying about my $1M bitcoins, regardless of how much indica I smoked.

I would certainly want to beef up security at the old homestead, with lots of cool electronic eyes, motorized gates, and a wall…yeah a really high wall.

No more pizza deliveries, I don’t need a bunch of nosy pizza guys, sniffing around my bitcoins.

And no more dating either, because I’d never know whether they liked me because I’m handsome and debonair, or just to get at my bitcoin.

Then Chuck got very pensive.

“You know buddy,” he said with a smile. “When I think about, it would be nice to be rich, but that’s not the life I’m used to. I would probably fuck it up.”

He went on, “I originally bought crypto as hedge on fiat, and I have both USD and EUR cash stashed with my bitcoin and gold. But before we can handle BTC at $1 million per coin without everyone trying to fuck each other over for their coins, I think the whole world needs a lot of growin’ up to do to. Easy money ain’t always such a good thing.”

“Of course if it happens in my lifetime,” he laughed. “I’ll take the money and run, and I sure as hell ain’t gonna look back.”

What would you do?

Sort:  

I'd likely do exactly the same as I do now, sit reading shit on Steemit all day.

Yeah, that's kinda the point....could it happen?....my standard answer for such questions, WTFK?....but if it did and you were going long...and staying true to yourself, not much would change...but in reality, everything would change, and can you deal with it in a positive way?

Congratulations @willskor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55