Major Gold Dealer APMEX Begins Accepting Bitcoin

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I just learned about this today and I am super stoked because I've been buying precious metals from Apmex since 2009 and have had great service the whole time. I love the idea of buying gold without having to go through a bank to get some. I know Apmex charges a 3% fee for buying gold with a credit card and I always hated paying that fee because I could buy more precious metals without it but It's the fastest way to get your order fulfilled. I'd have no problem giving Bitpay a 1% fee, much cheaper than a credit card fee and it's not going to the banks that always find a way to fuck you over with hidden fees.

One of the largest online gold dealers has announced that it will begin accepting bitcoin.

APMEX said on Dec. 8 that it would begin to accept the cryptocurrency through an integration with payment processor BitPay. It's also offering a small discount on purchases made with bitcoin in order to drum up interest in the new feature.

The company said in a statement:

"For more than 15 years, APMEX has been an industry leader and along the way has adapted to the growing needs of our customer base. As bitcoin becomes more popular and widely accepted as payment, we are thrilled to welcome the use of this cryptocurrency for buying gold, silver and other precious metals by integrating BitPay into our website."

The next time I want to 'cash out' and take some profits on cryptos I'm going this route because I'm sure Coinbase charges another 5% fee to covert bitcoin to cash and my bank will probably charge me another 3% fee for international transactions.


This is my favorite gold coin. Need to save up my SBDs so I can add a few of these to my collection.

Source: https://www.coindesk.com/major-gold-dealer-apmex-begins-accepting-bitcoin/

Sort:  

Even with the current BTC fees, it's a far better option than credit card.

Good on them, good on you.

Bitpay wants over 200 bucks in transfer fees for even a 20 dollar buy, unless they changed it from week and a half ago when i tried to buy with them.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@skeptic/moneymetals-exchange-will-only-take-bitpay

Is that the miners fee?

thats what they claim, i transfered 200 bucks to a bitpay account and after sending it for 16 bucks in under 20 min when opening the account it said my balance wasent enough to make a transfer. I tried to buy a bunch of ways but all it kept saying was my balance couldnt cover miner fees.
I eventually found out how to force the system to use the minerfee i wanted and it cost me like anohter 12 bucks to send out of the account but when trying to buy with bitpay they want to automate the sending of the money and you have no control over the fee they want added.
If you have a grand in your bitpay and you buy something for a hundred bucks expect to see over 300 bucks in bitcoin missing from your wallet for the "miners fees"
Its a trap IMO, Maybe its changed now thought. it has been 2 weeks and i did send them a nasty letter with screen shots of everything.
:D

Ya that sucks. No small silver purchases for me then.

It does look like they are working on a bitcoin cash option to bad it's not litecoin.

Check out silvergoldbull.com they take a couple differnt cryptos and they are selling a 10oz silver bar at spot price. i just got mine yesterday.
I have bought from them a couple times now and it is the easiest and quickest i have come across when paying with crypto online and you can use any wallet you want. I send directlly out of bittrex and then i dont have to pay 2 transfer fees(from exchange to wallet to bullion seller). I honstly cant recomend them enough, prolly gona order more tonight.
:D

Oh damn that's way better. They even have free shipping over $99 and are a little cheaper than Apmex too.

Yeah, i really like them so far. they might not have as big of a selection but they make up for it in price and ease of use.

Only thing negitive i can think of about them is they stopped sending people chocolate bars with their order.
:D

Are you still investing in Gold ? Why not invest in low cost high tech Cryptos instead.

I'm invested in both, they are both decentralized, anti-central banking alternative forms of currency that I support.

Cool - America is catching up with New Zealand!

https://www.mygold.co.nz

That is just shopping made easier and more accessible

I agree with you

Excelente amigo, le deseo éxito en sus negocios, El Bitcoin y las criptomonedas son el camino al éxito.

That's the way to go!

great content....its helpfull for us...reesteem
please follow @ upvote me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01