My mining story (Part 1)

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

The begining

image
I began mining in January 2017, after my cousin would not shut up about this "new easy way of getting free money". I signed up to Minergate downloaded claymore miner and boom I was making profit.

Monero days

image
my first monero "paycheck"


At minergate I mined monero(XMR), the what seemd so good for me at the time alternative for the GPU unminable bitcoin. I was mining when I was in school or when I was at my girlfriends place( roughly ~6 hours per day). I was amazed when I got my first 10€ in a month, I felt like the richest man in the world. I would continue mining till the begging of march. In the course of two months I got about 20€ from monero, enough to take my girlfriend out for cheesburgers and some cocktails. ![image]() *Last monero transaction to date*
# What is Ethereum and Ethereum classic? I already saw ethereum when I began mining XMR, and it sounded kinda promising to me somehow. ![image]() *Minergate's UI*
So again one day my cousin calls me saying "Yo, ditch XMR go mine ETH", and I switched to ETH(17€ per coin in early March). Again mining times were similiar. I didn't mine it for long, I switched to ETC soon because of the lower mining difficulty and *the possibilty that this 1€ coin will rise someday*. I mined ETC until I reached 28€,this time it was for my girlfriends birthday present(her birthday was in May). With both ETC and ETH I mined decred which was not a big easy money cryptocurrency(I mined a total of 5€).

The dark period aka WHY DIDNT I INVEST IN ETC😭

image
During the time mining ETC I was thinking of maybe investing 20€ into it. A simple rise to 10€ would be a almost a 1000% increase in value and it would mean my 20€ would become 220€. BUT I converted my ETC to € and never invested the money I ment to and the dark period began.
I stopped mining for about a month only to realize that I am a one big idiot. Even if I continued mining the increase in value ETC saw would benefit me a lot. But I said to myself:

what happened happened I have to move on.

Episode IV: The return of the miner

It was the 28th of May when I got back. The finals in school made it possible for me to dedicate myself to studying, which ment that my computer could mine 24/7(I didn't game on it etc.)
I also switched pools - Minergate's-block-discovery-rate was very very slow so I moved to ethermine and finally moved to Nanopool(because of their mobile app).
I also ditched the slow Decred and started mining SIA. SIA seems easier to mine and also more valuable 1000 SIA ~ 18€).
In almost a month of mining with my PC I've mined about 110€ of ETC, 20€ of SIA and I must say I am very happy with the money I made.
image
Nanopool's app for Android


# Hardware My PC consists of a AMD FX-9370 processor(ditched mining on it because of low profit and **oh god the heat** and most importantly my Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ OC 8GB Graphics card. I get about 25MH/s with it(because BIOS mods just won't work). I also ordered a Sapphire Nitro RX-580 which I still have not recieved because they are simply not in stock anywhere on the planet. ![image]() *RX 480*
# Payouts For payouts I use the Changelly-Coinbase method I convert mined coins to BTC and then send them to coinbase from there the money goes into my bank account(I will post about Coinbase in the near future). # The future ![image]() I'm planning to build a dedicated 570 rig. The money I get from mining now will be invested into it.
**What about you? Where and what do you mine? Did you like my post, would you like more parts? Let me know in the comments below** >Be sure to check out my other posts and if you like them please upvote them and subscribe for more!
Sort:  

Hello there, great mining story you have. Are you still using minergate? If yes, you may check out other mining alternative because minergate does not utilize your gpu 100%. Because i know explosive cryptocurrency is so i have decided just hold on ehat i have earn and mature if when it becomes significant (but i just started recently :( )

Hey thanks! No I'm not using minergate anymore now I'm using Nanopool for mining, thanks anyway! :D

Great story. I regret not buying into bitcoin last summer. I had my finger on the trigger but never followed through. This article is helping to push me back towards going for it. You earned the follow.

$675.00 last summer, have you looked at any other coins you were toying with?
the market has gone nuts, many new Millionaires. children too LOL

I think I will...

No, I didn't link my bank to an exchange and still can't get any miners to work. I tried that nanopool mentioned in the post which is as simple as I can imagine it getting, but i get an error. Apparently GTX770 isn't up to the task.

they have video cards at over $2000 that work good I hear. A little rich for my blood, but some day. there are sites that help with mining, but most are closed-lipped, why help your competition kind of thing. One asshole sent me a script so I would mine to his wallet LOL. I'm not that good, but also not that dumb. Put in the effort to make the coin dude. I know its a lot to learn, thats why I tried to get you going last summer. you would be a pro by now and able to help me hehe.

Started my rig only a few weeks ago with 5 1070 GTXs. No problems so far. (It took quite a while to get riser cables - seems everyone is mining so it's not just lack of GPU cars that is a problem. I dual mine Eth & Sia. Eth makes the $ but Sia is rewarding because it produces so many coins per day. Hopefully Sia will go up some day and by then I will have a boat-load of them!

Thats so great to hear!

great story bro upvoted and follwed keep on steeming on

Thanks bro!

I WILL know wth you are talking about one day.. I will I will I will.. I just started a mining contract today and all I know is, it's going to payout -- I really need to learn all about this because I don't think it is going anywhere anytime in my lifetime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74