More Coinbase robbery

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

As if Coinbase doesn't rob people enough with all their fees, now they are charging customers multiple times for the same transaction. It's funny they made this mistake and didn't mistakenly send the customers extra coins.

This article from The Verge tells you more about the double charging incident.

https://www.theverge.com/2018/2/15/17017374/coinbase-cryptocurrency-bitcoin-ether-unauthorized-charges

Coinbase is a business and they are excellent in their business. They are so good that when someone asks me how to get any crypto coins I tell them to start with buying bitcoin or litecoin on Coinbase, despite my hatred of Coinbase. I only say this because unless you have a friend in front of you wanting to sell you some coins, Coinbase is the easiest way to get coins. It's so easy my dad can use it.
Coinbase is a great way to buy coins but I encourage everyone to transfer their coins out of Coinbase ASAP. The point of bitcoin is to be in control of your funds. If your funds are in your Coinbase wallets then you aren't really in control of your funds. Now you rely on Coinbase when you want your funds instead of purely relying on the bitcoin network. Your funds could be out of your control if not stolen if Coinbase were to be hacked.
Please look into safer storage options if you currently keep your coins in Coinbase. Hardware wallets are a great option. Converting it to Steem is also a great option.
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Yes, I completely agree. Coinbase has been nothing but a headache. It’s funny how the issue works in their favor and not the other way around. 🤦‍♀️ smh

As much as we all hate CoinBase, this time is might not be their fault.

I just did a video on this but here is some light on the situation:
visa_fault.png
source

Its the Banks who changed CoinBase payments from credit to "cash advance." After the change was made some transactions were processed again which resulted in double and triple charges.
not_crypto.png
source


~ Hope This Helps

That's a good point that this may not have been Coinbase's fault. But there is good reason for us to hate them regardless if this is there fault.

Lol I hear ya!

We all have our horror stories from CoinBase.

Converting the bitcoin into steem is the most easiest place to secure your fund

It certainly is easy and secure! Even if someone were to hack into my Steemit, they couldn't steal more than 1/13th of my Steem Power. I feel very safe with my money in Steem Power.

Really great article!! Followed and upvoted!

I've been doing some research on people who follow/unfollow. I'm curious as to the reason you unfollowed me when you follow over 6,000 people. Thanks in advance!

You'll guys will never make it on this or any platform if you cry over someone unfollowing you.

Then you spam his comments? You guys should be flagged.

Whoa easy there turbo. It was a question, it wasn't spam like so many other comments I see. I am sorry if I offended you. At least I didn't give him a $0.01 upvote and then comment and upvote myself more than the original post. Not like I have enough power to do so, but I've seen other people do that and always thought that was poor etiquette.

My comment was a direct response to the blog post, also I only upvoted my self After I already received upvotes from others. (The purpose of up-voting is visibility.)

Maybe I could have worded my response to you better. (I'm not perfect lol)

But (to me) expecting an explanation on why someone unfollowed you is expecting too much, spammy and childish. (imo)

Good luck, be great!

All very fair. So I guess I do have a confession to make, I didn't really check out his profile before commenting. Many of the accounts that follow 10,000+ people are either bots, people just spamming for a few upvotes, or people plagiarizing. I should have looked into him rather than just trying to troll a troll, which it appears he is not. That was my mistake and I shouldn't have been such an asshole.

Good luck to you too buddy!

Hope that's a fistbump and not a punch to the face 😂

He just unfollowed me too...what sup?

Hmm, it seems he decided to go on an 'unfollowing' spree. He's down to a little over 2,300. My guess would be he followed a ton of people with no intention of interacting and just trying to gain followers. Smh

Bingo! I don't believe it is against the rules...so whatever.. too much work really..he would better serve this time in interaction. But like I say I don't think there is any rules I know of.

It was way too much work and not time well used. I was just so bored my first night on Steemit with an empty feed. But it didn't take long for my feed to become cluttered and useless, hence my unfollowing spree. Now I will focus on following active Steemians who speak my same language.

That makes sense to me. Thank you for the response!

@themightyvolcano looks like you know English and I am active..hey you do what you need to do. the best to you.

That's all I need to know. I was blindly unfollowing everyone to make my feed more useable. But active, quality, English speaking members will be followed again. Thanks.

Interesting, same thing just happened to me too.

When I first started here I followed many people just to fill my feed. Then my feed got so cluttered I could hardly use it. So I began unfollowing people to clean up my feed. I assure you it had nothing to do with you. I'll get back following more people soon. I'd love to hear what conclusions you are able to draw from your research. Thanks!

420 ! Guy, blaze it and have a nice weekend :)

Ps: Coinbase sucks, due to fees and only 3 coins.
PPs: I prefer my old joint but vape taste is so pure, dang it... it only lacks the kick :/ Hwere can i try volcano ?! I know bluebird in amsterdam but it was always busy, so ... where else ?!

I'm not sure where else you can try one although I can't imagine any vapor lounge not having one. You may just have to buy a volcano. If you vape enough you'll feel the kick

Totally agree, get the/any amount ASAP off trading platforms and "store" it on hardware wallets.

Yeah! Did you also hear of Robinhood? I think that's what it was. Coinbase's competitor now! Definitely get coins out of coinbase! Thanks for warning people!

I had not heard of Robinhood. I just checked it out and it looks pretty cool. Thank you for informing us all about a great way to save on fees!

Thanks for your kind suggestions dear. At least I'll be alert to transaction charges.
Out of the subject, I want to ask you something. Did you invest in steempower or you just generated through this platform in the last 19 days? I'm a minnow, that's why curious about how you get 4k+ SP in 18 days? I'll appreciate your kind answer.

I invested in steem and powered up. I believe Steem to be a great investment and I will likely invest more.

Interesting information, thank you for sharing @themightyvolcano😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65