Nano Ledger S- Yes, It Is Easy and Eye Opening!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

So today I got my first hardware wallet, the Nano Ledger S. The technology out of the box and the first minute or two going through two helpful youtube videos to get me started, which you can find below, I was already seeing the value of not only taking the risk away from an exchange hack or close-down, but just fascination of the encryption and security involved in this cool little gadget.

I got mine from https://www.cryptohwwallet.com/ (not getting any money for saying this), and if you put the discount code juangalt, you get 5% off your purchase. There is a bit of a delay to get it at the price I did (69 dollars, free shipping) but I called their customer service and talked to Joseph, who is the owner and totally awesome, he put a rush on my order! Oh, and he got me a Monero T-Shirt to boot!

With this little guy I was able to store Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum and Ethereum Classic companion apps, and other blockchain-based cryptocurrencies. Here are the current altcoins supported:

Bitcoin
Ethereum / Ethereum Classic
Litecoin
Dogecoin
Zcash (z-addresses are not supported)
Dash
Stratis

and now..... Ripple!

You can send and receive payments, check your accounts and manage multiple addresses for each currency from the same device.

First though, before you follow the directions in the videos below, you need to download the Ledger Manger, Ledger Wallet for Bitcoins and Altcoins and Ledger Wallet Ethereum. From the Ledger Manager, you can download the rest, then you are ready to roll.

One of the hangups I had dealt with is when it asks you to enable browser support, when using this site you have to say no, and then it will sync with the site's view of your Nano Ledger.

Try a few small transactions and get comfortable. And make sure to make triplicates in multiple locations of your 24 word passcard!

Sort:  

Great to hear and thanks for sharing.

I also got a Nano S last week, it's great. If you enable "Browser Support" in the Ethereum app, you can use it with MyEtherWallet.com

I heard that. I also heard that you can bring aboard WINGS and TRST onto it through myethereumwallet.

Mine showed up last week, but I ordered mine from Ledger themselves. I don't trust getting a hardware wallet from anyone but the source, maybe I'm just paranoid...

Understandable. If I didn't know Juan Galt and Joseph's reputation, I would feel similar, but I feel good about it.

In addition, the one I got was wiped and provided me my 24 word passphrase as well as requiring a physical press of the button. On top of that, there is a separate 8 digit passphrase that you need to log in in the first place, so that definitely takes away all worry.

unless there is a secret hardware back door hidden inside the device itself ;) gotta open it to be sure

I really like this new more expensive ledger

shopping for hardware bitcoin wallets is so fun!

Imagine when they make gucci and prada ones! women will ant crazy pink and diamond encrusted ones

Also, that looks like those old iPod FM transmitters.

a modded device isn't out of the question, when we're talking serious money... what do they say about it not being paranoia if they're actually out to get you?

exactly, maybe paper bitcoin armory wallets printed onto a piece of metal or dima lavbel maker

OR a bitcoin DVD using teh kodak 24k gold dvd r's that last over 10,000 years

How come noone uses the 24 k gold DVDs the Simthsonian uses to store bitcoin wallet private keys

I got a"trezor" wallet a week ago. Still haven't opened it or tried it out. Jsnip4 mentioned - if you have a bunch of different crypto's on different exchanges- just putting all those different wallets on a flash drive. I'm trying to get my nephew to walk me thru it- putting all the wallets on a flash drive. Knowing me & my paper mess- A paper wallet would be the one single piece of paper to disappear.

Ah, you watch Jsnip too? Good info. Yeah, agreed about the paper wallet. I'd probably have two or three flash drives just in case one gets damaged. I got a nano ledger S and a few HW1's for bitcoins.

I really want one of those. Birthday gift, cuz?

Hahaha..... maybe...

ok ow much is it tho??? $70? omg yes but theyre all out untill june 20th hahaha

I think that the ledger wallets are not open source though, while the trezor ones are. So the trezor ones might be more secure

You are not getting money for the link. You are getting it with the referral code.

That's not honest.

Juan galt gets money for the referral code. I'm not even him. You save 5%. Where is the disconnect?

lol its ok people who arnt wnnng ywt get jelous lol keep steeming ! i got ur back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52