Beginners Journey Into Mining - Part 4 - Finally started to mine and i have some Benchmarks.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

The troubles are finally over, I am finally mining and earning some sweet Altcoins.

9b32af54503a4a8148856883b7d.png

With all the problems I have had trying to source a second hand Radeon R9 290 and them arriving dead, my better half @Deeviras, went and spent way over the odds for a Radeon RX 580 8Gb so I could first and foremost replace the old GPU that is dying a slow and painful death, to the point it is locked at 300mhz, secondly, so I could finally get some benchmarks/hashrates on various altcoins and what profit I could potentially earn.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

So the card that @Deeviras got me is a Power Color Red Dragon RX 580 8Gb card for about £370 ($513 US), that is just under double the original RRP when the card was first launched, that is of course due to 2 things. First, the Mining boom has hit its second wave. At the end of 2017 the GPU prices were coming back down in price as the supply increased, but the start of 2018 has seen a massive boom as Ethereum hit an all time high this month and everyone is jumping on the Ether band wagon, buying up all the RX 4&5 70's and 80's. The second reason for the short supply and high prices is because of the Chinese gaming community, millions of new gamers from china have joined Steam and you can see this in the shift in the Steam survey.
Basically I was lucky to get this card because the store where I got it ran out of stock of all AMD based GPU's the following day.
14958246c308a2b9f48fabdf4b1859b4-1200x900.jpg
I will be doing a full review of the 580 after I have used it for a few weeks, but I have managed to get some numbers with various mining software....

CoinHashing PowerProfit Per DayReturn on
Investment
Ethereum19.95 - 20.50 Mh/s£2.41 / $3.34 US154 days
Ethereum Classic19.95 - 20.50 Mh/s£1.56 / $2.16237 days
Monero0.960 - 1.120 kh/s£1.42 / $1.97261 days
Zcash290 - 310 Sol/s£1.70 / $2.35200 days
Bitcoin Gold290 - 310 Sol/s£1.98 / $2.74187 days

This table is pretty simple to understand, the hashing power are the numbers you can expect to see with a single RX580 GPU.
The profit per day is before electricity costs, with myself this isn't an issue as I am on a fixed tariff, so regardless of how much electric I use, my bill will remain the same. However this may not be the case for you, so it is something you should factor into your cost calculations.
And finally the ''Return on Investment'' is how many days I would have to mine to get my money back on the RX580 GPU, at a cost of £369.99.

flag_nanopool.png

All the numbers you see I got through specific Node miners like Claymore, using Nanopool.org for the pools.
I had to setup a wallet for each coin, which I thought was a little pain in the arse. After a quick search. I found Exodus which is a software based, all in one solution. So regardless of what coin you are dealing with, this will have a wallet ready to go for you. It is an automatic install onto your main drive, which is OK for me as everything gets transferred into my portable/hardware Bitcoin Wallet. It is an awesome piece of software, and I would highly recommend it to any beginner miners like myself. Its quick and easy to set up.

download.jpg
There are a few 1 click miners out there that you can use, but I am a little sceptical of them.
NiceHash's recent hack resulting in $6million of miners money going missing is a no go as I will never trust em again.
Minergate is an OK all in one solution but the hashing power is lower than using a node miner, weather that is a problem with the software or Minergate skimming off the top... I don't know.
WinMiner again is another all in one solution, but it is very minimalistic and seems to be very... suspicious to me. Especially when you visit there website.

So I ended up setting up my own miner node. Which is fairly easy to setup.. I will create another post describing how with screen shots. At some point soon.
download.png
At present I am mining Ethereum as it is the most profitable at the moment for the GPU I am using, and have been for a few days now at about 12 – 14 hours a day. With this in mind, it will take the best part of a year for me to get the money back for my GPU, and that is not taking into account the difficulty of the mining and value. But I have a few node miners set up now, so I will check every now and then, which coin is the most profitable, and change accordingly.

I will report back after I have mined for a few weeks with performance and profits.

Thanks for reading.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

Don't Forget to Upvote, ReSteem and Follow for more content like this!

#tech mojo footer.png
Stu @TechMojo

Join the chat TechMojo Discord Channel

Follow us TechMojo OnG Social Page

Like us TechMojo Facebook Page

Follow us TechMojo Twitter

Sort:  

Nice to see you got everything up and running. that rx580 is a though find nowadays. I am toying around with bytecoin which I am currently mining 10-15 BCN a day, granted, they are quite low in value, but I am planning to get a stack of them and HODL and move to the next coin. Success in the mining business!

yeah was a good find... though i am quite good friends with the chaps at the PC shop as they may be sponsoring a Desk PC build i have been planning for a while now. but yeah. i went and mined a load of 'cheaper' coins. just in case they do rise in value like others. will be posting up a how to set up a long term mining software later today. and i have my eye on a few 560's as they have a very low return on investment, less than 100 days. just hoping i can mine enough to buy them with bitcoin.

great article friend keep it up

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64159.93
ETH 3482.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50