Wallets That Are Supporting BIP 148

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Bitfury-Mines-a-Block-Signaling-USAF-Mandatory-Segwit-Deployment.png

With BIP 148 activating on August 1st you need to know whats happening and if you arent ready, you could end up going through hell with your coins if your Bitcoin is not in a wallet that supports BIP. So what wallets are supporting BIP 148? Ive been contacting wallet developers and this is what Ive gathered so far:

Trezor Wallet:

Yes

Ledger Wallet:

BTChip via Twitter told me yes they are supporting BIP and a fork if it comes to that.

Electrum:

Yes.

Samourai Wallet:

Yes.

Sort:  

I saw a video on youtube, a guy was showing what to do for Bip 148 on August first and all he did was go to shapshift website and coverted it to Litecoin.

Heres the video where I learned about BIP148 and how to protect and profit from it

if you shapeshift to anything else you will not profit from potentially having doubled your bitcoins on both networks when fork
happens.

Will Exodus support BIP 148?

With Exodus, you Control 100% over your funds with Exodus. Therefore, if you have your BTCs on an Exchange, I'd get them out of there and into your Wallet (Exodus or Jaxx) before August 1st 2017 (just to be sure).
More info on Exodus here:
http://support.exodus.io/knowledge_base/topics/does-exodus-support-bip148-and-the-uasf

I've been looking on google and not seeing much in Jaxx wallet but you mention it here, which I found by googling.
Are you saying Jaxx will be ok?
Thanks for the reply, I will keep looking , if I find the answer I will post it, unless you respond first, thanks for your help in advance.

I can't wait until these idiots try and fork the network with no hash power.

what are your plans? where are you keeping your coin?

I just keep the private keys offline like normal. The private keys to your coins will always remain the same.

Please i need help I'm a newbie. I lost access to my blockchain.info wallet. I don't have my seed but i have my private keys... I mean the login ID keys n my wallet address are the private keys right?. How can i recover my coins. Please help me Adam

Also, anything that is profitable enough to mine people will almost instantly make an FPGA for and then upgrade to making an ASIC. What are they planning to do, fork the network everytime someone makes an ASIC for their algorithm? These guys look stupid and they were conned by Bitcoin Core's bullshit. The current miners have over a 100 million set aside to kill any attempt to take out their business. The other thing they do not understand is that mining will be decentralized within the next 12 months because the miners have slammed into Moore's Law with the last batch of 16nm miners. This is why there has not been a new miner released in the past 12 months. The only thing for them to do now is start making them more efficient and flooding the market. Everyone in technology knows this, the people in bitcoin who do not know this are people that are only getting there info from r/bitcoin. The mining problem will solve itself, this is why most people are not worried about it. You should look at a few of the things I have written on here if you want to know more or feel free to ask me. There is a link in my profile that you can use to contact me.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@adambalm/my-thoughts-on-how-the-bitcoin-fork-will-play-out

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@adambalm/bitcoin-unlimited-miners-may-be-preparing-a-51-attack-on-bitcoin

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@adambalm/the-truth-about-who-is-behind-blockstream-and-segwit-as-the-saying-goes-follow-the-money

so if i bought a Ledger Nano S, or a Trezor and throw my coin in there, would that work just fine regardless of what happens?

You should always have copies of your private keys, if you don't own the keys you do not own the coins. Whatever wallet you are using now get it to give you your private keys and write them down or move them and your wallet.dat file to an offline device. Cryptosteel makes a great cold storage device. I had an issue a while back where I could not get my wallet to sync for over a month so I could not access my coins. What I did was grab my private keys and plug them into a different wallet, problem solved. You can use Electrum to take the private keys off of hardware wallets. I like both Ledger and the Trezor either one of them would do. The Trezor looks cooler but the Ledger would be easier to hide as it looks like a USB stick, but in all honestly they both work great and are peer reviewed. Just so you know Trezor will be coming out with their 2.0 wallet that should be available by the end of the year. All coins that you do not plan to spend in the next 6 months should be offline and backed up at least twice. I only use hardware wallets as my hot-wallet for coins that I might spend in the next 6 months.

i have a ledger nano s .. is this safe for if there is a bip148? ... also whats the difference between private keys and a recovery seed? .. how do i locate my private keys with my ledger s?

I am pretty sure these guys are going to try and fork the network to force Segregated Witness on people. They will fail. Ledger does support this minority chain. The private key is the actual address where you Bitcoins are stored. A recovery seed is a group of private keys that can be restored on most devices. The advantage of using a recovery seed is that if you accidentally send some coins to a change and delete the wallet you can recover the change address. Private keys are the most low-level basic way to retrieve your Bitcoins and recovery seeds are an encrypted 2 layer way to recover the keys. You always want the direct simplest way to retrieve your keys. If somehow something happened to the second layer and you had your private keys you would be able to recover your coins. Where if you only had the seed, that is now broken you are SOL. If you had your private keys you would not have to worry about what these ass hats were doing. You can have a recovery seed and have your private keys at the same time.

Thankyou for replying .. so how would i find my private keys in my ledger wallet?

Please i need help I'm a newbie. I lost access to my blockchain.info wallet. I don't have my seed but i have my private keys... I mean the login ID keys n my wallet address are the private keys right?. How can i recover my coins. Please help me Adam

Hi here is a list of wallets that supports BIP 148 scroll down to about the middle
http://www.uasf.co/ and also here https://www.weusecoins.com/uasf-guide/#wallets

If the split is succesful you could have double your coins on both networks if you are prepared or else you lose the new ones if your wallet doesn't support the new coins.

so is ledger wallet supporting it? .. it does not clearly state if yes but all rest say yes?

yes. Ledger said they will be supporting BIP or any other fork that is decided on. They are ready for everything.

Please i need help I'm a newbie. I lost access to my blockchain.info wallet. I don't have my seed but i have my private keys... I mean the login ID keys n my wallet address are the private keys right?. How can i recover my coins. Please help me Adam

THe only thing I hope is that Poloniex supports it

I wouldn't count on any 3rd party.

I don't really have to do anything with my Bitcoins in my Multibit wallet? Multibit replies me that they are not supporting any future forks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51