You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Bitcoin just a quicker path to destruction? Long/medium term destroying angel... Short term possible Saviour... : A Short Thought Exercise

in #bitcoin7 years ago

You may want to look into "Ithaca hours" or "Mountain hours" for currency use in NeighborGood. Each business or service provider generates currency based on the availability of resources (man "hours") that gets traded. I think similar concept can be utilized for NeighborGood, using block-chain with either expiration date upon which the coin self-destructs, or time-decay program imbedded.

I think we will need a store of value currency as well as time-decay currency. If the store of value currency is tied to or backed by undeveloped resources (forests, un-mined metals, untapped aquifers, etc.) then the store of value currency will truly represent the cost of deleting these "goods" for commodities.

Sort:  

Sure, by why have another mechanism (backed by) what could just as easily be the real store of value? A house is a store a value, a highly productive food forest is a store of value, deep relationships are a store a value, knowledge, and experience are stores of value, tools and materials are stores of value. With so many available options for storing value, why have a liquid version as a store? A highly-liquid store of value will always trump (economically) less-liquid stores of value, thus creating an artificial demand for it... So, why go through the effort to create a currency backed by real stores of value, when it's merely a counterfeit?

I have known of ithica hours for some time! Unfamiliar with mountain hours. I like the concept, I would like to expand on a bit more it though because I don't want to delineate 'time' as a currency. I still like how the market dictates price and if time is involved that tends to get distorted as it's difficult to factor in other forms of capital, such as knowledge and experience. I.e. a highly skilled tradesman's 1 hour is more valuable than a non-skilled tradesman given the same task... So, currencies backed merely by hours are a bit difficult... I realize Ithica hours has implemented some strategies to circumvent this problem, but I would like to avoid if from the start.

Haha, I am reminded of the proverbial desert nomad who considers two kontars of water jugs worth more than a lake.

Hahaha, exactly :)

Hahaha! Your comments are the actual best things I read! I'm going to co-opt this sentence. I feel it belongs in more general conversations :)

It is an idea from Frank Herbert, though I don't recall the exact quote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56998.67
ETH 2405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28