You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you hate bitcoin?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I think the issue right now is that the entire Crypto space is very overvalued. Their large marketcaps come from the promise of something great, and the association with blockchain/tangle technology as opposed to having REAL value right NOW.
The reason many "average people" distrust Bitcoin is probably a combination of gut instinct that the technology isn't there yet (otherwise they'd be using it, right?) and the fact that they truly DON'T understand the technology.
I think the FUD from Wall Street/mainstream media only reaffirms their own suspicions, rather than acting as the supplier of their opinions as you claim.
For what its worth I WANT crypto assets to succeed, but I don't want them to succeed as investments (though I'll readily admit I have a lot to gain from them succeeded as such).
Instead, I want them to succeed as PRODUCTS. I want to see a decentralized Web 3.0. I think society will change in major ways as a result of blockchain technology, but I don't know when that might happen/ what cryptocurrencies will be the ones mass adopted, and I'm not sure anyone really does (hence the immense competition in that space).

Sort:  

I disagree, while it true certain coins are way overvalued, there are many that are undervalued. The block chain is not going away, it's as big of idea as the internet itself.

I totally agree with you man, I actually predict that at least 95% of the cryptos out there right now will be gone in the near future because, as you pointed out, money is being pumped into them for investment value only, not for their technology (look at doge coin!).

I agree, don't hold coins that have no product or real life value to them. There are a lot of coins and tokens that the investment you put into them is used to do some good things. Those are the gems you need to find and buy if you want long term value. Ethereum, Neo, Steemit, LBRY, DTube, Decentraland, Bezop, Envion, Solarcoins, KWH coins, Buzz Coin and many many more that all offer real value service instead of just stores of value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36