I Had My FIRST "Shoe Shine Boy" Experience Today!

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

The furnace repairman came to my house this morning. 20 minutes later, we were talking about Bitcoin!??!

I said nothing to him about it. There were no papers or screens displaying the Bitcoin logo, etc. Perhaps because I'm a computer-guy and work from home most days, he assumed I knew all about Bitcoin. None the less, he started telling me about how he's invested $1,500 at the $5K level and how it's tripled. He even told me that within 5 years, 1 Bitcoin will be worth $1,000,000.

In the back of my mind, all I could picture was this.....
21-big-profit-ideas-for-small-retail-investors-4-638.jpg

This guy is a hard worker and a good guy. Funny, he told me he never purchased a share of stock in his life (I was trying to relay to him that these things can go down just as fast as they go up). He started to scare me a little when he told me all of his friends were telling him that the owners of Amazon and Wal-Mart were buying up all the Bitcoins they could get. Sounds like the stories are starting to run rampant!!

He plans to continue to dollar cost average into BTC through his Coinbase account. I told him that was wise so he slowly build a position whether the price goes up or down. I also warned him about the "all-in" mentality.

When the cashiers as Wal-Mart start chatting me up about Bitcoin, I will be VERY worried.

BernardBaruchQuote.jpg

Stacks OUT!

Sort:  

When your furnace worker starts talking about bitcoin, you know it's time to get out.

Quit worrying....it's nowhere near a bubble. Going way higher.

you are right.. even though m new here but m sure of it too..

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 9.85% vote... I was summoned by @sirstacksalot! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

That's a very important rule of thumb and a good thing to keep in mind! If its receiving all the buzz then the time to invest has now past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63376.37
ETH 3089.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82