Introducing Myself

in #bitcoin7 years ago

IMG_0146.jpg

Hello!

I am entering this space as a way of expressing myself without censorship or restriction on my innermost thoughts, some of which, I must admit, disturb me. I have been asleep for many years and am waking up in a very different world from the one I closed my eyes on those several decades ago.

I am interested in meeting people who can guide me in learning how to manage living in this modern world, which includes bitcoin, space travel, hyperlinks, cyber communities and so many things I could not have dreamed possible growing up as an innocent child in a world which, by today's standards, was quite simple.

In my dreamworld I have experienced much I can share with you in return. Some of my stories are not exactly pleasant, but I have learned along the way that humour is the very best defence against despair; so I hope, in these pages, to make you laugh, even loudly, from time to time.

Ask me questions and I will answer.

It is my intention in these annals to set down my experience without obfuscation so that others may learn from and thereby benefit from it.

It is also my hope that in doing so I can add somehow to the possibility that, whatever happens when the asteroids strike or the Messiah finally comes, as a species we will finally drop our egocentricity, learn a bit of self-irony, and, for heaven's sake, loosen up a bit.

I will be happy if you send me good wishes - why not? They cost nothing but would serve as nourishing to me as rain to a sensitive, once-beautiful plant sadly struggling now in some arid garden, far away indeed from appreciative eyes.

Thank you for your consideration and the time you have spent reading this; may good befall you according to the good you have done by listening to a crone, an ancient lady, a beggar at the banquet of life.

And may the Force be with you!

Sort:  

welcome! I'm new here too :)

Hello divineburger! Thank you for the vote, and tell me when you start your blog!

Good wishes - and welcome to steemit. Keep writing and sharing and I'm sure you will thrive. Your intro-post is intriguing so I look forwards to your future stories ✍ 🙂

Thank you raj808 - I looked you up and appreciated your poem very much - keep writing!

Which poem did you read? I'm glad you enjoyed it which ever one it was. 🙂 The community here on steemit is very welcoming once you get going. The trick is to write as regularly as you can but equaly importantly, to read other peoples articles and comment your thoughts on the ones you like/relate too. A lot of people starting out here, don't realize these simple things that will help you to make friends and attract followers to your blog.

You might get a lot of people commenting on your blog when you get started saying - I followed you, now you follow me please - this is considered impolite on here and gets a lot of people into trouble when they first start. Here is a steemit article that will help you understand the etiquette:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/the-complete-steemit-etiquette-guide-revision-2-0
I hope I am not coming across too preachy, this is just something I wish I had known about when I first started on steemit and I hope it will help encourage you. Good luck @sirodsimelay, and happy blogging

I read "A Deluge For The Dead And Dying" and I found it very moving. I liked the irony too of the photograph of the man reading the business section of the paper. No, I am very happy to receive advice because I know extremely little about this business of online networks - in my day we had pen pals and wrote letters with pens dipped in inkwells set in wooden school desks and it could take weeks for communications to reach their destination, especially if that happened to be Overseas. I like instant communication and I like the idea of being able to meet people and share ideas across such a seemingly infinite spectrum of age and experience. So there is a lot to enjoy within modernity, I find, though I miss silence and of course I miss the bush because so much of it has turned to desert over the years. But then everything comes at a price, no? Anyway, looking forward to reading more of your work! And good luck!

Congratulations @sirodsimelay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43