Is there such a thing as a small ICO?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Okay, this is less a post, as a drawn out question by me.

Are there such things as very small scale initial coin offerings?
I (as an amateur programmer), would love to fund small projects through this method, but I've never seen or heard of them before. (Not to mention that in the wonderfully free country of the USA, I am legally not allowed to do this without major hoop jumping.)

We all see or hear the major ICOs, but they are raising 10s of millions of dollars at the minimum.

I would be much more interested in investing in small, personal projects that got digitized on the ethereum blockchain.
The "mom and pop" of ICOs to the "wal-mart" that is what we currently see.

So do y'all have any thoughts or ideas on this?
Perhaps I'm missing a forum, or a website where small business initial coin offerings happen?
Please let me know in the comments. :)

Sort:  

I really like your way of thinking...just a modern kind of crowd funding, which in a way was the whole idea behind the first cryptocurrencies...Should be possible with the right computer skills..

I don't suppose you'd have those said skills, would you? :)
I can do full web stack and a bit of solidity, but none of it in a way that would be well coded, or "secure".
But if you could, I know one person, at least (me), who'd be willing to showcase your attempt and give you as many views as possible.

I'm sorry, but I don't have those skils..but I think it should be easy for you to find one...maybe even here on Steemit...just shout out that you need one, and let them prove their skills😁
If you already have a project in mind, have you considered normal crowd funding??

My little minnow voice doesn't reach many people. ;)
I am almost assuredly not going to attempt such a project, because it is something that needs to be done right. I can't do it justice, so I don't want to "take the idea first" from someone who might be able to do so....

Anyhow, I will see about trying to get people thinking about it. It would be really cool if it would work.

Dont just give up before you have even tried...I can see that the idea itself is important to you...could be nice to see your baby grow, and in time maybe become a man... You are the idea guy, you just need to team up with someone with the technical skills... Just go for it!!!!!

Interesting question - I'd like to know the answer too...

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 7.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @shaw1
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shaw1 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

not sure how this working - do you go check my blog now? @jilliangodsil

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @shaw1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @shaw1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74