Warning! Etherdelta is compromised. Do NOT log in to Etherdelta. Here's what you do. Cheap lesson.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Etherdelta is under siege. They have reason to believe that there has been malicious attacks that has temporarily gained access to the DNS server. They are investigating the issue.

IN THE MEANTIME, DO NOT USE THE CURRENT SITE

 

Skjermbilde 2017-12-21 kl. 10.15.16.png

 

Skjermbilde 2017-12-21 kl. 10.15.52.png

 

To be extra safe, you should somehow protect your Ethereum. I had been lazy, and left my Ethereum wallet connected to Etherdelta. Luckily, my good friend @deismac saw the tweet and informed me that an attack was going on.

What I did next was to create a new MEW-wallet and transfer all my Ethereum there. I do have some coins still standing on the EtherDelta exchange, but that should be safe as long as I don't enter. The reason I transferred my Ethereum away is because it has grown to just way too much money to be compromised.

This was a CHEAP lesson. In worst case I lose a few thousand $ on my weird coins that I have on Etherdelta. Best, and most likely case, I lose nothing at all - and I learned yet another important lesson.

Next time I'll use EtherDelta or other similar sites, I'll transfer a SMALL amount of ETH to the MEW-wallet that I will use to connect to EtherDelta with. I will NOT connect the account where I hold a large amount of Ethereum.

Check their Twitter feed for more info

https://twitter.com/etherdelta

Sort:  

it's always better to stick with bigger exchange/wallet such as coinbase. Whilst they are not perfect, at least they are more secure.

Like Mitrado say, Etherdelta is something entirely different. It's a decentralized exchange to buy and trade very small cap coins. Not like any other exchange.

good post greetings friendship @mizi23 my thanks to @scandinavianlife

This post has received a 2.54 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @scandinavianlife. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 7.01 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @scandinavianlife.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-12-26-17

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58702.17
ETH 2301.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46