Cryptocurrencies Investment - Rule # 1 : Look for REAL Value (part 1)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

In my first article, I promised that I am going to talk about the rules of investment in cryptocurrencies (CCs for short). The Steemit community encouraged me to do that (Thanks to all who upvoted, commented and followed). So, today, I will talk about the first and most important rule: Make sure that the cryptocurrency you are investing in offers real value.

real-value.jpg

So, What is REAL Value Anyway?

If you investigate the CCs that are available now, you will find that so many of them do not offer anything special. They do not solve any real problem. They do not satisfy any need that is not already satisfied. They are simply copycats that are riding the hype. Such projects do not offer any real value, and they do not deserve a dime of your investment.

On the other hand, you will find that there are some projects that are very creative. They use the blockchain technology in such a way that would enhance people's lives or solve real life problems. Such projects are good candidates for your portfolio. I am saying "candidates" because they have to meet the rest of the rules before you would decide to invest in them.

Examples # 1: Bitcoin

bitcoin.jpg

When Bitcoin was born, there was a real need for a universal electronic currency that is not subject o governmental control, and Bitcoin filled that gap perfectly. That is why the value of Bitcoin keeps increasing. So, Bitcoin meets our first rule. You might think that this is obvious, but for so many, it is not. So many people in the crypto community do not know why does Bitcoin have such a value. The answer should be clear by now: because it satisfied a real need in a great manner.

Example # 2: Peercoin

peercoin.jpg

The success of Bitcoin has encouraged so many people to copy it. One such project is Peercoin. Peercin does not offer anything more than Bitcoin. Naturally, such a coin would only rise with the hype, and its creator will get rich by selling his/her share of coins in the hype. After a while, people will start to understand that it is worthless, and the result would be like this:

peercoin.png

This is what happens when you put your money in a CC that does not offer real value. In the recent hype, Peercoin has risen a little bit again, but I am sure, it will go back to near zero value sooner or later.

example # 3: Quark Coin

The same story of Peercoin is repeated here. Therefore, I will only post its price chart:

quark.png

Rings a bell?

Ok, But Why Not Benefit From The Hype?!

You might think: Ok, I agree with you that such coins do not have real value. But who cares?! If it is rising with the hype, I will get in and when it reaches the top, I will sell and make a lot of money. My answer to that is so simple: this way you are not investing. you are gambling.

a-roulette-wheel.jpg

I like to call such coins: gamble coins. If you ever make any profit from them, it would be sheer luck. However, Ask anyone who gambles: Which is more often happens to them: winning or losing?!!!

Moreover, if you want to benefit from the hype, why don't you put your money in a good coin. After all, in the time of hypes, all CC go up. But when the hype ends CCs with no real value will fall sharply and stay low for a looong time.

To Be Continued...

TBC.jpg

This rule is so important. So, I think it deserves a sequel (and maybe more). There are so many CCs I want to talk about. Some of them are coins with real value, but some are gambling coins that I think will leak value by time. I am planning to talk about Either, Dogecoin, Dash, Stratis, Pivex, Ripple, Stellar, Steem, Waves, Zcash, SiaCoin, Ubiq, Monaco, Gnosis, and other CC.

Until then, please, tell me:

  • Which CC you would like me to talk about?
  • Which CC you beleive offers real value? and why?
  • And which one you think is a gamble coin?
Sort:  

Lets hear some more about NEM. I feel as though there is not much out there and it has been #4 in Market Cap for sometime. You never hear a thing from the developers or what is going on with it. I love to hear what people have to say about it.

You are absolutely right. NEM definitely deserves a deeper look.

I look forward to your future posts. I'm still learning about crypto currencies and its a learning curve to say the least. I'm backing steemit because it has value. If steemit ops to monetize the site then as least the revenue can back the value steem. Just my 2 steems.

Thank you. I hope my articles would help.
I agree with you on Steem. Anyone who joins Steemit can see that it has a real value to offer.

You were wrong about Peercoin, I can prove it to you in a year.

Hi @ppcman, Thank you for your opinion. I might be wrong, but can you tell me why?
Do you believe that Peercoin is offering any real value?
Please share any info you have about it.
An important point here is that Peercoin may go up, but that would be sheer luck. That's why I am saying that it is a gamble currency.

Good points in this article. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. The quality coins are here to stay and it's like buying in at the S&P 500 50 years ago. Cryptos will fall and rise at a more rapit phase any investment market has ever seen. Just hold (literaly) and enjoy the ride. We really need more insights in the market and previous investment results (even though they don't deliver any guarantee for the future). Besides coinmarketcap.com there is: https://www.coincheckup.com The site that lets you check all there is to know about the team, product, communication transparency, advisors and investment statistics on every crypto.

Good post. Really appreciate you bring this to our attention. The crypto space brings the biggest group of uneducated investors with it. This group will only grow. We really need more insights in the market and previous investment results. I found this amazing platform: https://www.coincheckup.com This site is really helpful in my coin research. I don't know any other sites with so much indepth analysis. See: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Peercoin#analysis For a complete Peercoin Detailed analysis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50