You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Economist 1988's Front Cover Foretelling a World Currency in 2018 - Is This True?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Get an Economist subscription. Read the article in their archive. The coin on the cover says 2018 because the scenario the Economist develops is «thirty years from now».

«THIRTY years from now, Americans, Japanese, Europeans, and people in many other rich countries, and some relatively poor ones will probably be paying for their shopping with the same currency. Prices will be quoted not in dollars, yen or D-marks but in, let’s say, the phoenix. The phoenix will be favoured by companies and shoppers because it will be more convenient than today’s national currencies, which by then will seem a quaint cause of much disruption to economic life in the last twentieth century.»

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2017-07-09/economist-get-ready-world-currency-2018

Do you think the Economist is a conspiracy magazine? Read it, it's not only about economy but also politics and science and wuite worthwile.

Sort:  

Get me a link. I've already mentioned in the article the zerohedge page doesn't point to the right article on theeconomist at all. Do you have a sub? I don't think they've any archive on the site before 1992.

Edit: I'm a reader on the economist btw. love their work.

Oh, you mean you want real evidence. LOL Like a link.

LOL chill out, man ;) I didn't name names, but I never meant to insinuate the Economist as a conspiracy magazine. Thirty years ago, I don't think fake news was even a thing. But anyway, yeah, I respect what the people at the Economist do and I never thought of them as spreading false information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46