You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EOSJacks: Top 5 App in less than 24 hours!

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Usability is the main thing that's going to make dApps more popular. ETH has the high price problem and thats solved(ish) by STEEM and EOS, plus our chains aren't clogged up. As a user, I want to be able to easily get into the game without having to jump through thousands of hoops(reason why I don't have cryptokitties). Lets take a look at STEEMMONSTERS and EOSJACKS.

Steemmonsters is very easy to get into. All you need is $10, and a steem account(so no more than $13 at current prices if you PAY for your account). Transactions to broadcast are freemium(limited per day, but at higher SP levels its pretty much unrestircted).

It was a similar process with EOSJACKS for me. Get account, get scatter, get in. Theres only the bet cotst and thats just the nature of the game. They too have the freemium model with CPU.

But cryptokitties costs me ETH to do anything and I just can't stand that. No, I don't wanna pay that fee to do a simple thing in the game. Plus it's a pain to set up.

To keep its users happy, get some better visuals, help their users reduce costs somehow and give a better guide to EOS newbies. Steemmonsters does this pretty well, site is clean, they explain how to log in with posting key(or steemkeychain) and if you have $5 worth of STEEM. Both sites can explain the "staking' process to newbies better though. I still have no idea how to do it(and I come from STEEM so I know more than someone who's never touched crypto before). Basically what I'm saying is that they need to simplify things to target people who've never done anything EOS related before. If I don't know why I can't broadcast a transaction on either platform, I'll just give up. Steemmonsters has good error messages, but EOSJACKS just gives the raw message, which is offputting and makes me wanna get out of it. It's too designed for those who have experience with blockchain and development. Make it for the average dumb joe who's never touched EOS in his life. And include a "pro" mode to give raw error messages and all if users want.

Sort:  

Great suggestions.
I too feel that projects should aim for video tutorials as it becomes easy to visualize the basics. And, as you brought up, the average Joe is a lot more likely to grasp a visual tutorial than a textual one.

The app is new so I expect the raw error messages to slowly be swapped with friendlier visuals. I'll be sure to pass over your take-aways to them.

I agree with you that simplifying entry barriers is the key to taking dApps to the next tier of adoption.

Definitely. They certainly are better than the raw chain itself, but still have some work to do before they can reach the level of mass adoption. It's all about making things easy for the guy who's never been on a blockchain before.

They've been up for about week. Improvements would definitely roll in with time. As for accessing the app, I feel like that's a barrier due to the underlying blockchain.

Blockchain technology has ways to go before becoming hyper-friendly to average consumers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99