Poloniex exit scam, ddos attacks or "connectivity issues"?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I and others have been warning about Poloniex for a while now. The shutting of the Trollbox, the legions of complaints about stuck or missing deposits and withdrawals, the mysterious CEO, the virtual company address, rumours of insolvency...

polo.jpg

Well now the website's down and a hack may be blamed, whether true or not. Just like with Mt.Gox and Crypsy. My money's out, but I'm hoping I'm wrong and friends and family haven't been robbed.

If Poloniex comes back online and you have access to your wallets, for god's sake get it out. There's more than enough warning signs whether it's malice or incompetence that your cryptos aren't safe there. Either way it looks like a sinking ship.

Sort:  

I just took out most of my money from there but still left a lot in there

I hope they come back up and you get it.

Are you going to withdraw it? Or give them benefit of the doubt?

Thanks for such info, it will be helpful for other steemians

same, just tried to log in, not a good sign, but hopefully it comes back on as I've got quite a bit in there at the moment

I hope so to. My brother has some coins in Poloniex he couldn't get out (not a lot), a couple of my mutual Steemit followers have also had missing withdrawals.

I really hope this isn't another exit scam, the Bitcoin/altcoin community doesn't need another one.

I like this post. I have a similar one others may like. Nice seeing someone who isn't at risk but thoughtful of the ones who could be.

https://steemit.com/poloniex/@realestatecoach/poloniex-down-or-what-to-do-when-it-is-up

http://ethereumworldnews.com/poloniex-changes-rules/

The biggest change of all was made to Poloniex’s Arbitration section of the ToS. There have been quite a few rumors circulating regarding the potential insolvency of the Poloniex exchange. According to the new terms, all users trading on the platform waive their right to participate in a class action lawsuit or class-wide arbitration. This addition is not uncommon for cryptocurrency exchanges, yet it will likely only fuel the rumors.

I just created a support ticket for closing my account. I think I have had enough with PoloniEx.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99