Cryptocurrencies: Xapo, another scam?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Last month I shared with you my new card from Xapo and that it worked to buy my first meal with bitcoins.

IMG_20170720_122000.jpg

I was really enjoying the card even with:

  1. many bugs on the mobile app, that serves as 2FA. You have to pray for it not to crash on you, or wait until they offer the sms 2FA to make an operation.
  2. the really high withdrawal fees, that they say are mining fees, but only the fools will believe it. All the sends of bitcoin from their accounts costed me 0.00166237 bitcoin, compared to 0.00001 on Bitfinex is huge, they should really love miners!

So I was using it to have money that I was not planning to spend and money that would feed my card and that was fine for me, as they claim to have the safest vaults in industry and so forth.

Then August 1st came and they told that they would not support BCC/BCH but that they would have a possibility to withdraw the Bitcoin Cash that the clients had right to after the fork. You can check their newest update here:
https://blog.xapo.com/xapo-bitcoincash-bch-update/

And until now nothing. Are they waiting for the BCC/BCH to implode or what is happening? Despite all the contacts I made, to customer support or twitter, the only thing they say is that they are making it safe for us to withdraw the BCC/BCH. Seriously?!

During the fork I left half of my trading money on Xapo and the other half on Bitfinex to check which were operating best. And Bitfinex 2 or 3 days after the fork had the Bitcoin Cash on my account for me to decide what to do with it. Xapo, on the other hand, is still holding my Bitcoin Cash for no reason!

This is the difference between a serious cryptocurrency company and some value-less organisation that disrespects their costumers and thinks they rule the world...

I already took off all my money from Xapo, left only a few bucks for the card, and advise all of you to do the same! :(

Value-less companies in the crypto world have their days counted! The community is not big enough for things like these to go unnoticed...

Sort:  

I have to inform all of you that Xapo have finally let users withdraw their Bitcoin Cash from it, or exchange it to Bitcoin! Great to know that they didn't just take the Bitcoin Cash from their costumers. They were only far too slow implementing the functionality... :)

You should use tenx now great check this post https://steemit.com/tenx/@cryptolover2017/great-comparison-part-2

Thanks. For future will check that and bitpay. :)

I used xapo for more than 2 years, everything was ok, thanks for warning, I have now a problem with coinbase, I can't even login, I didn't install the google authentificator and they are not accepting my id, hard wallet is much better, I will buy it someday.

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86