You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dogs of the Dow... for crypto ?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I don't think that would work, because the performance criteria on the stocks is based on a fundamental value: highest dividend to share ratio

Cryptocurrencies don't have this, and so far, they are only speculative assets.

Even those that have good use cases (like Ethereum, Steem, Bitcoin) are still too limited.

New cryptocurrencies pop up every day, and lots of them are added and removed from the exchanges very often.

This could work if we had a standard index, wich would probably have criptocurrencies with strong fundamentals.

Coinbase is starting a Index fund, wich if i remember correctly, would have around 60% in BTC, and the other 40% split between LTC, BCH and DASH(?)(don't remember wich was the 4th).

Also, there is this indexes that maybe could be used for that.

But forget about new cryptos added to exchanges. Most of the new coins that pop up have a price action of huge pump right after launch, followed but the price tanking tramendously, and sticking to that level for a very very long time (check most of the coins outside the top 100 on coinmarket cap and you will see the pattern)

Sort:  

thanks for the input, much appreciated. I wasn't sure what the criteria was for a coin being listed on an exchange, I assumed that they would only be considered if they were growing, and stable (that's how I'd do it anyway).

I see what you mean about most of them though, they all have the same 'shark tooth' pattern. Anyhow, it was just an idea that maybe someone with more knowledge could look into it. There seems to be a lot of very inventive and innovative people in the crypto market :-)

Depending on the exchange, it's not that hard to get a coin to be listed.

Bigger ones, like Coinbase, or Bittrex, might have some more "hard" criteria, but there is a lot of exchanges that trade anything.

When you have some time, take a look at the coins traded at Cointopia, Yobit, HitBTC and other smaller ones. You will be surprised of how many low volume coins are listed on these.

BTW, that link to MVIS indexes might be a start...

There is a lot of indexes there, with 5, 10, 25, 100, small-cap, medium-cap, high-cap...

Its a really interesting index. I need to take some time to dig through it, but there might be something good there.

Thanks, I'll have a closer look. As I said my blog post, it's not for me as I don't really understand a lot of the crypto stuff, but I thought the idea might be useful for someone with a bit more intelligence :-)

I might do something like a paper trade, and see how it goes though, just for fun. I'll post any results on my blog and it might help someone do something for real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66