Coming to an ebay near you

in #bitcoin5 years ago

I'm sure some people are very excited about this development and that is completely understandable. After all, paypal, the dreaded company many despise, is finally getting some real competition. I mean, no matter how you slice it, this can't be good news for them.


ebay.png

Paypal's demise


It's a known fact that paypal has been a dominant player for a very long time now. After all, there was and still is (as of writing this post) almost no way of skipping that line if you are buying or selling on Ebay. The access to this market is probably the main reason why Paypal grew as much as it did, but if I'm to be honest, I think their days are numbered now.

If you don't sell with paypal you might not be aware with their recent changes. Yes, they've gotten worse, and the most recent update to their fees is to me a sign that they are trying to cash grab as much as possible before they get kicked to the curve.

"No, you can't have the fees back!" - In what I can only describe as the most ridiculous thing I can come up with, Paypal has recently decided that it won't be refunding fees for refunded purchases. In other words, If I as a seller sell $1000 and pay $30 in fees, but my customer returned the $1000 product, I would be out the $30 that paypal took upfront.

I'm not aware of any fintech, or more accurately, any payment processor who does this, nor do I think that anyone would be so ridiculous as to attempt it. So, the question remains? Why?

Well, what if they've known about this upcoming change with Ebay, and thus need to cash grab as much as possible to survive the adaptation period that is right around the corner. Who knows? It does make some sense however.

Why Ebay?


I think the better question is: Why not? - No doubt one of the biggest markets in the world, right there, at your fingertips. If you don't see how this is going to impact cryptocurrencies, you've been sleeping on the marigolds. This is huge, or to but it in today's lingo; YUGE.

Up until very recently I had given up completely on selling on ebay. My decision mainly came from my issues with Paypal and some money that I never got back, regardless of the documentation I presented them, and despite me having back and forth emails with the buyer who confirmed receiving the product. So as you can imagine, this is making my mind race a bit.

Soon the Baristas will join


Listen, we are still early in the game, but don't be fooled, time flies rather quickly. If all of the sudden you start hearing Bitcoin talk from the dude at Starbucks, I'll tell you what. "You are getting in late!" - Not that this is financial advice my friends, but we are in the cusp of opportunity as far as I can tell.

Oh, and before I forget. Yes, now you can buy your coffee with crypto too. So yeah, there's that...

MenO

Sort:  

Things are about to go crazy!!
can't wait for Crypto to be all over the place and people would see the real power of this technology! <3

Greetings @meno

I am interested in what you propose in this publication, I hope that in future publications you will develop more opinions about it.

Wait, I'm completely out of the loop, what does ebay plan to do exactly? Accept crypto?

I saw the coffee and crypto stuff starting...

lets see how this will unfold
(proud user of never having used paypal in my life hahahaha)

That is an interesting move and I agree with the cash grab! They need to provide share holders with value and they’ve scaled as far as possible! EBay opening up to crypto is like what Silk Road did for bitcoin but on a bigger scale pretty soon more marketplace sites like wish could follow! It’s going to be slow adoption for us who are already in it but for the rest of the world this will all seem pretty sudden! We often forget we are the minority here

Posted using Partiko iOS

I usually try (and succeed) to avoid PayPal. There are just too many bad stories around. And I don't want to settle merchants with ridonculous fees.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sooner or later we will see another payment method after Visa and Master cards will be BTC .

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

That is a major move as it opens the market to many more options including those that remain unbanked with no alternative to transact. This could broaden the reach globally of both crypto and the unbanked!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great review @meno and I'm sure the future is in the world of payments for crypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44