Week 3: My Crypto-Currency Portfolio (24th July, 2017)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hi All,

It is officially the third week of my personal investment portfolio report. For previous posts and more information, please check out my profile or click here.

I am looking into doing some more crypto-market analysis so I would be very eager to hear what you guys think of my work.

I also want to take a moment to thank everyone that read my previous post, seeing that post do so well and having it only be my second post on steemit makes me extremely excited for what's to come!

Summary

Since the 17th of July the markets have bounced back quite a bit. Ethereum and Zcash still remain under $250 each but it seems that things are much more stable. Not as volatile as it was a few days ago.

Trading on Luno in South African Rands, the bitcoin is back to its normal old self trading at around $2900. The recent bounce back in crypto value could definitely be attributed to the BIP91 lock-in on the Bitcoin network. The SegWit changes caused a lot of confusion and angst among most of the community and this is what caused everyone to withdraw their investments, causing all crypto-currencies to take a nose dive. Things seem to be repairing themselves slowly but surely.

Investment Strategies

Disclaimer: Please remember, as mentioned in previous posts. This blog and weekly report is designed to show my journey as a young crypto-investor. This is by no means to be taken as advise and before you make any decisions on where to push your money towards, I suggest that you do intensive research on market behaviour as well as the technologies behind these coins.

My investment strategy hasn't changed much from last time. I have seen some steady growth in most of my portfolio and I am up around $60 in terms of USD/BTC value on my portfolio. This does not make up for the dive it took in the recent week(s), but it is definitely a good start.

Since I gave a "technical" breakdown of the coins I invest in, in my first blog post, I won't be repeating myself. You may find that information on my profile or click here.

These investments are my little experiments to see what the market thinks of these coins and what the developers can offer me as a potential consumer in the future. I believe crypto's are destined to overtake Fiat currencies, but that is for the future generations to adopt. For now I buy on intrigue and function. I wish I had put some money into Ether before it boomed, but all is not lost.

Below I have compiled some charts to show my progress and so on. These are still in their fetal stages because I only have 2/3 weeks worth of data to compare them to. None the less, I believe they do add value to the discussion.

Coin Volume

This is a percentage based breakdown of the volume of each coin that I possess. BURST having the largest impact on my portfolio volume because it can be bought for under a penny.

Coin Volume 24th July.PNG

Here you can see that my volume of HUSH has also significantly increased. This is due to the fact that it is my currency of choice when mining cryptos. It utilizes the same algorithm (equihash) as Zcash, but is less well known so the network difficulty allows you to net a higher volume of coins form mining. This is a mining as investment strategy, I will not be flipping these coins unless they reach their previous value (around 0.00115 BTC/HUSH)

Estimated BTC Value (Per Investment)

This shows a breakdown of what percentage of wealth each investment represents. This is an accurate monetary showcase of my portfolio.

Investment breakdown 24th July.PNG

Price/Coin for Investments

This graph shows the per in BTC per alt-coin invested in at time of writing this post. It is an accurate representation of the week-on-week growth of my portfolio.

Price Per coin.PNG

To illustrate where the market was and where it is now, I also drawn trend lines for all the currencies based on date. I believe this should be of value in the crypto-discussions I'm hoping to invoke!

Final thoughts

Lastly, I would like to know form you; is there anything I can improve on? Would you like to see more data? Would you like to see less data? Is this even relevant?

This blog of mine is roughly 3 weeks old, and still very immature as a whole. I hope to achieve many great things on this platform and I believe with everyone's help I could do that very quickly!

So please, any critique - whether positive or negative, I would like to hear it!

I would like to thank all of you for reading!

Cheers
-M

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Always interesting to see how others approach it. Definitely let me know what you think about my approach!

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptotem/my-strategic-cryptocurrency-portfolio-update-3

You are leaning very hard on Burst. Any plans to take some out and invest in a different coin?

Congratulations @malice911! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @malice911! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44