Presenting Bitcoin to the Traditional Finance World: What Resources do you Enjoy?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I live within 5 minutes of a business school. Recently, we were speaking with the Dean of the school and of course, digital currencies came up in the conversation. The Dean ask me about giving a presentation on Bitcoin and the Blockchain space - I acquiesced to the request.

This is something completely new to me. While I have spoken to friends and family extensively, speaking to a business group will be a challenge.


The challenge, is that my audience is well established in the traditional finance world. There is little incentive for people to move or innovate if there is no perceived reason to do so. That is where you guys come in.


The Resources You Love

I have talked with quite a few of you within this brilliant community. The bright minds here are quite adept at explaining both the need and the vision of digital assets. My favorite to date is the presentation @knircky gave in Philadelphia.

In the talk, Phil talks about an article he read in the Harvard Business Review and the distinction they made between foundational technologies, and disruptive technologies.

The 50 minute talk is worth your invested time to understand why the distinction is important.


My request from you, the Steemit community, is what are your favorite resources for explaining Bitcoin and the Blockchain space for those in traditional finance?


I'll be crafting this presentation over the next week or two, and I would love to hear your feedback. Thank you for your time!


Image Source: 1
Video Source: Phil's Bitcoin Meetup

Sort:  

That is awesome!

I like this video for explaining Blockchain to ppl who are set in their ways regarding finance.

One thing I think also helps is to explain to people that they have already been using digital currency for years...most people are not using cash they are merely moving ones and zeros around online, this warms them up to the idea of "digital currency" then go on to explain the difference between the current settlement system and the blockchain based crypto

It sure is!

Good point, we are already using digital currency, and the blockchain is simply another means of settling the ones and zeros. It is a whole lot more fair too, and that ought to appeal to the populace.

Thanks for the video recommendation!

I am excited to hear how your presentation goes, you will have to keep us updated :)

There will be a post. :)

Wishing you the very best in your presentation, friend!

You did not specify, but as it is a "business school" where you will be presenting, my suspicion is that it's a secular school... Thus I'm not too sure just how helpful this may be. However, I'll still recommend a couple of my own articles, and there may be another one or two that aren't on Steemit yet that I may be able to "dig up."

Are Cryptocurrencies "A God Thing?"

How I Generate my own SECURE Private Bitcoin Keys

Something I worried about until I understood it better is the security of the math... I somewhere have an article I wrote to set that issue to rest... I'll see if I can find it. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Joking (kind of)

Lol, good one!

That video was very useful thanks first of all for sharing that in your post and coming back to the explaining things my experience is all what has came along the way from nearly hearing about bitcoin first i was not interesting but when i came to know its better than current investment things out there in the market i tried with little and it grows along with it :)

The video has been an education for me as well. You strike me as an individual who is constantly learning.

I'm sure a question that will be on many people's minds is: why should I even care? Letting people know what caught your interest in Bitcoin may be the most effective answer to that question.

Great point. Starting off with my own journey into crypto could be a good start.

I'm surprised by the format of the video presentation that @knircky gave in Philadelphia. I couldn't listen to what he was saying, which is primary, because he was relegated to a corner in the bottom right side of the screen. WTH! What on earth was the purpose of that? So, I can't comment on this because the format was so off-putting I couldn't focus. Mind you, Deb says I probably have elements of ADHD, but if I may make a suggestion - Don't do this in your talk. Don't let A/V aids overpower what you have to say. I learned these lessons from long years of trying to teach unwilling minds so you can take my advice to the bank... ha ha. Be confident in your words, speak with authority and don't hide behind an A/V presentation

you can take my advice to the bank... ha ha.

Haha, depositing that advice.

I didn't mind the format that much, but then again I am used to listening to podcasts and don't see the speaker much. I'll see what I can do about a split screen option.

Yes! That would help...maybe :)

"Blockchain" or Bitcoin: Understanding the differences

Nice! Thank you

This post has received a 1.46 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

Thank for sharing Upvote and resteem

Thank you for the resteem.

@lydon.sipe your audience may be reluctant but I am sure you will be able to capture their attention and now, in the next weeks, or months after making their own research many of them will be investing something on cryptos. This are my thoughts. @gold84

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54