How Self Education Changed My Life

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Steemanians, I have a confession...

Just a few short months ago I was completely financially illiterate. And I had no clue how clueless I was. Here I was, a 27 year old LPN Nurse from NYC in 2018 and I knew NOTHING about financial literacy, 401K, stocks, or trading... NOTHING. I had traveled all around the globe and seen so many beautiful placesMet so many beautiful people. And yet, I had no savings account. I was just doing what I was taught to do. Keeping my head above water, making a way when i can, stretching and surviving... yea Good Times. Living paycheck to paycheck, renting my apartment and barely making it by, with no viable back-up plan.


Check this out:
In January 2018 I had never heard the word "Bitcoin." I had no idea cryptocurrency existed. Until one day a friend came to me and he was SUPER EXCITEDDDDD about our future. This particular friend is an entrepreneur. I credit him with opening my eyes to the world of entrepreneurship and also pushing me to go out and get my world travel geers churning. We're both nurses. And to make a long story short, on this particular day he explodes into work bright and early with his enthusiasm on 100. He had found the thing that would change our lives forever. So he located me in the nursing office and he totally threw up on me all about crypto and BTC, prompting me to download coinbase etc.

Now i remind you that at that time I still hadn't the slightest idea about trading or stocks. Or anything financially relevant. I had never taken a class in it nor had anyone offered to teach me. I guess I could kinda blame the NY public school system. All they teach you is how to count dollars. But never how to handle them. Finances are extremely important. They will effect us our whole lives. But yet I graduated school knowing how to build a makeshift solar system out of Styrofoam, but never learning what a brokerage account is.

Nevertheless, i digress.

So I was knew nothing about finance. And neither did anyone in my family or close friends. All I knew about was hard work and debt. Both of which I had plenty of.
But something that has always worked to my advantage has been my willingness to being openminded. And always eager to learn about innovation.

So THE STUDYING BEGAN!


With all these new terms: Bitcoin, Ethereum, blockchain, binance, bitconnect lol, coinbase, stop/loss, Ripple, XMR, coins, tokens, ICO's etc . I knew i had my work cut out for me. But I have to be completely honest. Youtube played a HUGE role in helping me gain a very basic understanding into the "crypto." I instantly fell in love with the crypto world. And I owe all of credit to these Youtube pioneers. Sunny Decree, Crypto Bobby, Trevon James, and Ian Balina just to name a few. With the help of Youtube, Google, Documentaries, and blogs i gained some knowledge on this new and mysterious world.

I began to notice my everyday interests changed drastically. I went to sleep thinking BTC, I woke up thinking BTC. No longer was I interested in TV. I was now drawn into the world of Satoshi Nakamoto, Warren Buffet and books like Rich Dad Poor Dad. Who had time for TV? I now find myself in a hurry learn about business. And I become so frustrated with the realization of all the time I've wasted on "living my best life," when instead I could have used this time to be business minded. So needless to say my role models have changed drastically. And I no longer have time, energy or money to waste on hosting crazy parties. At least not as frequently lol)

It has only been a few short months. But I am so proud of the changes I've made. I've since began saving and investing in the stock market as well as in cryptocurrency. I don't hold much, because I'm a Newbie and the price of living in NYC alone is such a headache. But what I can afford, I do invest. Still, I'm proud that I've made my start. I feel confident in my future and in the future of crypto in general.

Disclaimer: I've never invested into Bitconnect. I was learning about it and by the time I was convinced to invest a little, it collapsed lol...... oh well, The Lord is good to me

20688124_152679931977709_1429305231379791872_n.jpg

You guys have a wonderful Day! I'm excited about the future of Crypto

Sort:  

really great post....i likr your post

Please Stop - @tanisha786

You just said "great post" and in your your last 100 comments you used 41 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 9 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 53.70% and Bot: 2.40%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Thank you Tanisha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71