Ethereum Classic shutting down?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Is Ethereum Classic REKT?

After finally giving into the need to create a new twitter account to keep promoting legit crypto projects and to keep pushing for adoption (after mine was reported for calling out scammers publicly and tagging them for losing "many people's" bitcoins) I discovered a tweet by the Ethereum Classic dev, Igor Artamanov, that had been re-tweeted by Richard Heart.

The tweet stated that the largest contributing dev team to Ethereum Classic, ETCDEV, will no longer continue development due to the fact that they are out of money.

This does not come as a surprise with the amount of coins we have seen failing due to the same reasons in this market. However, ETC was considered by many to be a public blockchain without an owner, so many believed it nearly impossible to ever be shut down.

I don't like to spread a lot of FUD or gossip but this is pretty juicy stuff, guys, and I believe that people should know about it when these things happen.

If this is all true then ETC will be the first coin in history ever accepted to the Coinbase exchange to shut down development.

Or, do you think that other developers will have the passion, drive, and skill to pick up the slack and keep working on the project?

Maybe, the project isn't "failing" or "shutting down" at all and that this news is really due to an actual forceful takeover by another development company?

Igor himself posted details about a possible takeover in a medium post. (link below)

What do you guys make of all this madness? Let me know in the comments.

If you want to know more in depth about what happened with ETC, let me know in the comments and I will post a video about it to my broadcast channel, http://bit.tube/coindecrypt.

In the video I will be covering some of the information that Igor talked about in regards to ETC development/takeover on 11/20/2018, here:
https://medium.com/@splix/on-the-attempt-to-take-over-ethereum-classic-etc-64d19a70eb6e?ref=tokendaily

Every time I see news like this, all it does, in my opinion, is put more provable value in projects like the original Bitcoin because there is no CEO or company behind it to fail.

The people working on Bitcoin over the past 10 years hopefully have more money then Jesus considering their coin went from 10 cents in value to over $20k over the course of less then a decade.

Of course, many people felt as passionate about ETC as I do about Bitcoin. Let me know what you think in the comments because I want to know more before I go off posting any more "news" about the subject.

One of my followers left a post that I think should be ready by anyone who thinks ETC is finished just because ETCDev is shutting its doors.

Source:
https://twitter.com/etcdev

ETCDEV Website:
https://t.co/zscCCkuHGj

Get more crypto news at my website, http://dailycryptonews.org, without having to put yourself through the eyeball torture of spammy shill ads, or any ads at all for that matter.

As always, thank you for supporting my push for crypto adoption.

New twitter: http://twitter.com/decryp70

I am not a financial adviser and I post information straight off of my dome in order to inspire you to do your own research and think for yourself. I appreciate the fact that people do not agree to everything I say and I am not afraid to change my mind from time to time, this is not investment advice and is for infotainment purposes, only

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @kryp70kn1gh7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kryp70kn1gh7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kryp70kn1gh7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

If it comes to this everything is possible. A gossip is easily spread, people get nervous, try to sell or... suddenly someone buys... I wonder why money is needed at all.

Posted using Partiko Android

I believe crypto-currency to be a gateway away from fiat and one step closer to a money-free society but until then my greedy ass is staking as much as I can because I have a child to pay for. Thank you so much for commenting and checking out the blog.

I have children too. I doubt it is a gateway. Untill now it only did cost me money. Of what I invested I lost 60% or more in the past year. See my latest post.
Escape from fiat? You mean taxes? In Holland and I am sure EU as well you are not anonymous. They find you, you are registered. Untill there is no way to buy anything with it except weed. The only one having profit of it is the seller. I need to buy it first via my bankaccount.
If you have children you better work and save money in an other way (by not spending for example).
By the way: At Steemit I also did not make an extra income either. It just cost me a lot of time, Internet fee is sky high and bad, etc.
I wish you luck.

Posted using Partiko Android

Bro, not trying to put you down, but you did not put out enough effort in your research on this project. I'm a supporter of ETC, so that said, you are missing details.

ETCDEV is not ETC, its not the same thing. I think Igor is awesome and he's a terrible loss and we all hope he comes back. However, he is not the Vitalik of ETC. In fact, this is what is so cool about ETC. If Vitalik walked away from ETH, the blockchain would experience incredible backlash.

This is not happening to ETC. On the contrary, ETC has performed a little better than a lot of the other coins in this bear market. Its because in many ways, ETC is the most decentralized platform on Coinbase. There is not just one Developer team, there are a few of them.

Additionally, DFG (Digital Finance Group) tried to manipulate their way into centralizing the ETC blockchain and failed miserably. This is evidence of strength in ETC, not weakness.

Pics or it didn't happen:
ETC Moon 1.jpg

Thank you so much for this response, I really appreciate it. Looking at what I posted I can definitely see how this post was misleading. I believe its because I was mislead as well. Is it okay if I use your comment in the body of the article to help me explain to people that ETC itself is not shutting down and that it is just the primary dev team of ETC? Thanks for reading the post and I will try to make it so that it doesn't mislead people into thinking the project is over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49