Bitcoin being used to buy houses?!?!

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

bitcoin-2640692_640.png
pixabay

Bitcoin News

As the price of Bitcoin continues to soar to a level that I think "most" of us never could have imagined (one Bitcoin is worth an incredible $5720.01 as I create this post), I am constantly amazed at it's potential. Even people who hold very little Bitcoin (like myself) should be excited about Bitcoin's forward progress and what this means for the future of "money".
I am fairly new to the crypto world, although I have dabbled in it a bit for the last year, most the crypto I hold is STEEM (and not a large amount of that). I am writing this as an excited "newbie" and am super far off from being any sort of expert.

I will absolutely never give you advice on Bitcoin, and you should never ask me to.

bitcoin-1760652_640.png

The first home purchase using Bitcoin took place in September of this year. This is so big! According to the article, which I will link below, the sale of a single family home took place in Texas and was executed using Bitpay to convert the Bitcoins into USD. In 2014, a 1.6 million dollar piece of land was sold using Bitcoin (maybe people already know this?!?!, but I did not). So it may be, that I am excited a bit too late over this news.

The president of Magnum Real Estate group is starting to allow people to purchase real estate using Bitcoin. He decided to allow this type of payment after people started to inquire as to whether or not they could pay this way. Possibly more exciting is that he realizes the potential of Bitcoin and is going to "hold" it rather than convert it into USD.

As noted in the article, many people are still skeptical of Bitcoin and other crypto currencies, although, it appears that international buyers are much more comfortable using Bitcoin in real estate than people in the United States are.

If you are reading this you are no doubt already aware that Bitcoin and other crypto currencies are absolutely real. I struggle with this when talking to people off of the platform, easily 9 out of 10 people I mention Bitcoin to, have absolutely no idea what I am even talking about.
News like this is exactly the type of information I need to be armed with to convince people in my everyday life that Bitcoin is "real' money.

Fact: Bitcoin is not make believe.

You can buy things with it!!
Yes, you can...
Yes, you can...
One more time for the people in the back.
Yes, you can!

I went ahead and shared the article on my Facebook and sent it to a few people who I know are skeptics. I can not blame people, Bitcoin is less than a decade old, but the information is readily available and makes me wonder "Do you even google??". What exactly are people using the internet for anyways, so much information is available, go and get it, yes, right now! I had to ramble a bit there, sorry about that.

To read the article that inspired this post:

https://www.cnbc.com/amp/2017/10/16/bitcoin-is-finally-buying-into-us-real-estate.html

Come see me in Whaleshares Discord:

https://discord.gg/nFQHhn

whaleshares.png

I'd love to meet you!!

Much love-

coollogo_com-381621.gif

Sort:  

Yeah it's so cool that we can buy homes with bitcoin. It still has a long way to go, but there are a lot of things we can buy at the moment!

Tomorrow I am going to do a post about cool stuff we can buy with bitcoin. What I found is this site https://www.overstock.com/

They ship almost everywhere, and you can buy furniture, electronics like celphones and computers! and even wedding rings

Neat! I look forward to reading it.

tackles @empath how the heck are ya?

Yes - this was reported by an earlier post - but it's still very exciting news and the way the feeds are on Steemit work - it's good that you are reporting it again - as many people as possible need to see how widespread cryptocurrency is becoming. The legitimate purchases that are happening are helping to establish it as a real currency that is valuable for more than just black market purchases.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 90.0% @bassemm upgoat, thanks to @jorlauski
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @krazykrista to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! Your post made this weeks Top 5 Real Estate Posts on Steemit This Week . Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59647.06
ETH 2365.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56