You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I learned to stop worrying and love the FUD

in #bitcoin7 years ago

FUD definition: fear, uncertainty and doubt, usually evoked intentionally in order to put a competitor at a disadvantage.

I had no idea before reading this post ...

Sort:  

Aha, thanks for that. I guess I just assumed it was like LOL, something everyone knew. I guess I guessed wrong!

Ha! Seriously. I didn't know this term before getting very involved with cryptocurrency

I'm from Scotland and that word means something different here :P
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=FUD

It mustn't be something nice since it was blocked by my work internet filter. At least I can still get to Steemit

Thanks for helping me learn something new today :)

I clicked on this post to find out what FUD meant as well lol

Since you have been in the game some years now, it's no wonder that you assume this. You have probably heard this term more times than i have heard Trump said "China" ;)

I am SO glad you are on here, --- I remember the day you joined.

Vive #Liberty!!!

Most people hate FUD. Not me. I love FUD. Why do I love FUD? Because, at the end of the day, it was the FUD that gave me bitcoin.

So how much bitcoin did you get then? ;)

How about a downvote?

this will demotivate him will leave the community. Lets encourage him to do more posting.

If those types of whining, begging posts are what they have to offer, he needs to leave.

Exactly. I'm just a day old in Steemit and I'm already getting tired of seeing people begging for upvotes and random commenting on others' posts. Things like, "Follow me, I'll follow back". Why would I ask a bunch of random people to follow me back if neither of us are going to read each others' posts.

Follow me? I love you long time!

haha..ok..if you promise :) Following you.

By the way, is there anything like downvote in steemit?

Wow!!!! What great content!!!! Those 4 words are so motivating!!!! What an offer!!! What to do, what to do......... I think I will pass.

hahaha man I love people who beg for free stuff Just like in the real word yay irony intended

Don't FOMO the FUD bro, YOLO!

Usually FOMO is used in short-term trading or day trading and refers to something (a market) you are familiar with. I tend to think FUD as fear of something unknown you have never seen before but have the insight it may be worth trying.

Cool, thanks for the extra info.

Hello @oceancoiz. Im from aceh. I like your post.

If you like my post please Upvote, Follow or Resteem.
Thank you for reading :)

@bukharisulaiman

I liked your post, I have low voting power but I will be happy to follow you.

FOMO - Officially my favourite acronym from now on!! Legend.

Nice, very useful. Thanks.

I was just thinking: whats a fud? :) thanks jerry!

Thanks Jerry - I didn't know what it meant either and I've only just learnt what FOMO means!

1500 BTC per hour being purchased globally this hour... via fiatleak.com

figured id make a music video to celebrate... @dollarvigilante

This will go viral in a couple more days....THINGS ARE HAPPENING ALL OVER THE WORLD PEOPLE. Gold will be ALL OVER . NO MORE PAPER MONEY!!!!!

REALLy Jerry?? U hadnt heard this yet?? I just found out about a week ago from @trevvonjb and @craig-grant and then i heard everyone use it, reminds me of Elmer Fudd when i hear it, which makes sense as fear and Anxiety are present during a rabbit hunt.

Anyway i am proud of you getting $8 for a comment! And I believe @keiserreport can bring steemit 1 million new users EASILY with a simple plugg from Max and stacey on the show! They can show everyone LIVE ON AIR how much money theyve earned in JUST a few short days while on steemit

Did you know this post is #1 on Steemit.com right now?!?!

Max is so lucky that his wife can just make $1000 in just a few minutes, just wake up, write a blog post, make $1000 and stacey is probobly VERY happy with herself and I bet she is having all sorts of ideas about who ELSE would be good at steemit! And I KNOW stacey probobly wishes everyone could make $1000 a day on steemit and with more users we can get steem price up to the $10 to $100 range and then Steemit can become even moe popular once people hear about the fortunes people got from steems price shooting up over night, it would be so nice for everyone hre, and its going to hapen, but probobly next year, BUT if @keiserreport just makes qa point of promoting STeemit as a tool for both free speech AND financial freedom, then millions of new users, kaiser report audience, will all sing up for steemit and THAT is what we need the MOST right now, USERS! everything else will follow!

I am so excited for this, we all should be!

Great article. You deserve a vote. Please check my blog.

But FUD is a deliberate strategy. It doesn't seem likely that the skeptics and cynics in the comments above were actually engaged in a disinformation campaign like the word 'FUD' means.

You do not believe there's been a deliberate disinformation operation against crypto? Really??? Did you just hit your head or something? I hope you're okay. ;-)

Of course there is. But there is also plain old ignorance and skepticism, and far more of it. Those YouTube comments are the typical skeptical response you can get to basically anything.

I misunderstood your reply then, for I'm talking about the overall situation. I'm not talking about a specific video. It has been documented though that governments hire people to spread disinfo through user accounts and bots on social media. The majority of the comments though are as you said. Thanks for the good back and forth! :)

Loading...

And here I always thought FUD was just that really low grade meat product. Their hot dogs are always under a buck at my local grocery store.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87