You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I’m a Bittrex Hostage, What It Means For You

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Thanks so much for sharing this info. I tried to open an account with them, but started encountering similar hurdles upfront. Basically I can log in and look at the exchange but I can't transact because like you say they keep rejecting the ID

Last night I spent close to 45 minutes getting all the scans they wanted (and a photo of myself holding a signed piece of paper next to my drivers).. after I pressed submit their website went into the please wait screen then eventually gave up on itself and closed.

If anyone wants a tip for taking those photos, I sticky taped my drivers to a mirror then took a photo with my reflection in the background. Much easier than trying to hold the paper in one hand and take a selfie with the other. Or try and get in position for a timer photo. Then again I guess most people would just ask someone else to take the photo of them :)

Anyway I don't get why they bother making us do that nonsense. I've seen some sites that use live video technology so you first show your ID, then you look into the laptop camera and it verifies you.

I know that the photo upload is supposed to do the same thing, but let's face it, anyone who's played around with Gimp or Photoshop could probably create acceptable fake IDs in png format.

I'm not trying to give anyone ideas of how to open accounts in false names. I just know that this type of stuff goes on a lot more than we'd like to think. I used to approve home loans for a major Australian bank, and part of my job was examining all the documents and even though most applications were legit, I got at least one or two a day where people were clearly trying to fake their way through it.

Sort:  

Well I relate to that experience. The time I've spent taking selfies and driver's license pics... all you can do is laugh about it.
You think they'd be incentivized to fix the problem... they're leaving $$$ on the table.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26