Margin long – any reason to use for a pure bitcoin trader?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Margin long – any reason to use for a pure bitcoin trader?


 I see the reason for going margin short to make profits from declining prices. However, I don't understand why a pure bitcoin (i.e. not Eth, no altcoins) trader would ever want to take a margin long position?

If I would have a diversified portfolio of both bitcoin and several altcoins I see how taking margin (long or short) positions on several of them simultaneously would be a way of effectively trading with more money than I have while at the same time balancing my risk on any of these leveraged positions by diversification.

However, if I only trade bitcoin, I would have only one open position at a time. (or would there be a reason to keep multiple open positions on the same currency pair?) In the context of forex trading, I saw the advice never to risk more than 2% of my portfolio on any single trade. If I consider that advice, e.g. for a 1:5 leverage, I could get exactly the same by simply investing 10% of my portfolio into bitcoin, unleveraged, with the added benefit of not having to pay the additional fees for margin trading. In fact, usually, I have way more than 10% of my trading account in bitcoin (unleveraged), sometimes I am all-in and I can simply sit through dips without doing anything; which would be impossible or at least highly risky e.g. when trading with even only 20% of my money on 5:1 leverage.

Thus, unless someone is gambling wild and putting more money than they actually have into a single trade (thereby risking margin call), there should be no use whatsoever for margin long positions for a pure bitcoin trader. Or am I wrong? Any explanation/perspective would be appreciated. 


 Please Follow me @imadhealth  

If you like this blog post please give it and upvote and resteemit to reach more followers! 

SOURCE : https://www.reddit.com/r/BitcoinMarkets/comments/76c7us/margin_long_any_reason_to_use_for_a_pure_bitcoin/


Sort:  

Congratulations @imadhealth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @imadhealth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41