Journey of a newbie Crypto Trader - Episode 0 (Pilot)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hello Crypto community!

Let me first introduce myself

I am a guy in my late 20`s , who works at a full-time job as a CAD Technician in Construction industry (currently in UK).
I heard about Bitcoin around November 2013 (just about before the $1k 'bubble'), I really liked the idea and started to gather as much information about it, started to read a lot about it, watch videos, joined Bitcoin related forums etc.

Don't do it!!!

First big mistake that I have made : NEVER buy more than you can afford to lose. Lesson learned the hard way( used some borrowed money to buy Bitcoin). So I bought some Bitcoins and started to experiment a bit, made a few transactions, deposited on an exchange and started 'trading' (trying to buy low sell high).

Second big mistake I have made : ALWAYS make sure you are not on a fake site and ALWAYS use 2FA where available (most exchanges have 2FA). Again lesson learned the hard way. Got all my Bitcoins stolen (around 3 Bitcoins which was kinda big deal of money for me) from exchange with phishing :(
Received an email from the supposed exchange (the fake one) that I need to change my password for security reasons. Being ignorant and uninformed at the time (still am in some cases :D) I tried to login..I'm sure you can figured what happened next..redirected me to the real site and when I login into my account my balance was at an astounding 0 BTC (it was a matter of a few seconds). Very sad moment. Got really mad and didn't really wanted anything to do with Bitcoin anymore (now I regret it more than losing those Bitcoins), and stayed away from it for some time. I still used to read news, follow the price regularly but didn't want to start buying and 'trade' anymore.

Fast Forward

Fast forward a few months ago the passion about crypto world reappeared. Started to read much more about it, joined many more groups/forums and I want to get more involved. I have started to really enjoy the crypto community, lots of great and very smart people with great vision (hopefully they will be the future leaders, we really need big changes in the world)

So I want to start a journey to learn trading and one day to be able to o this as a full-time job.
I'm posting this mainly to document my journey but also to get a feedback/trading tips as I'm really a newbie in this :D
I am a terrible writer but I'll do my best to make it look readable and enjoying for potential readers.

Let the journey begin

I will start my trading journey with a very humble capital of 0.05 BTC (whopping capital :D)
My target will be 1 BTC (I know it's a longshot but I'll give it a go:D)
I will mainly trade Altcoins on Bittrex, but I will be trading some small BTC amount on Bitmex (more like gamble with they'r insane leverage up to 100x). If you interested in trading with that kind of leverage join Bitmex and get 10% fee discount for first 6 months.
For charting I will use Coinigy - great charthing tool
I recently started reading some trading book so my trading skills are very basic so any tip would be appreciated.

Date: 06.08.2017
Capital: 0.05 BTC

1st trade :WAVES/BTC

WAVEX-BTC.png

A very basic trendline break-out with decent volume. I have entered a bit late but the trade is looking good so far. My target will be around 0.0018 mark.

2nd trade : DOGE/BTC

DOGE-BTCpng.png

Might be a mistake taking this trade. Was hoping for a breakout and got in the trade way before it even touched the trendline.
I will let it run a bit more to see how it goes (don't really have a stop loss at the moment).

3rd trade : SC/BTC

SC-BTC.png

SC-BTC formed a obvious channel and managed to get a couple of profitable trades with small gains, tried the 3rd time but the channel broke downwards and I didn't noticed in time to cut the losses and at this point I'm not really sure if I should let it run a bit more or cut the losses.

4th trade : DCT/BTC

DCT-BTC.png

Flag pattern formation (penant). Was looking for a quicker gain but it's in a profit for now so it's ok.

Potential trade: LTC/BTC

LTC-BTC.png

LTC/BTC formed Head&Shoulders pattern. Will be looking to buy in 0.0115 zone although I'm a bit skeptical that it will go that low (as far as saw sentiment is very bullish. might be wrong)

This is it for this episode.
I would very much appreciate any feedback/tips.

Tips are more than welcome : 1ESkNKU5w9RiLkRaLGuprVUWtcZfZqcngj

Sort:  

Congratulations @icet208! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Right on. Following along. Best success. Get that 0.05 BTC movin'!

Thanks for you wishes. Best of luck for your endeavours aswel

Congratulations @icet208! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @icet208! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40