When The Correction Comes...

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Everyone that is buying Bitcoin right now wants to know the same thing. When will the next major correction come? The answer is not quite clear but the math provides us a glimpse into what the future holds...

MarketCorrectionIMG.jpg

Bitcoin has been moving well above its long-term moving averages lately and is overdue for a serious correction. Normally this would happen once a major psychological barrier is hit, like the last time when we touched $3K. There was a 50% correction (according to Fibonacci Retracement) which landed BTC back at $1826. Now we are looking at $4492 as the record high with our sights set on $5K psychologically.

Will we reach this target first or face a steep retracement downwards before then?

As markets are heating up we have seen jumps of $200, $300 and even $400 in a single day so anything is possible. The market can contract just as quickly though so beware.

BTCcorrection8172017.jpg

In this chart I have the one year moving average set (red line) using Bollinger Bands. Bitcoin always returns to the moving average eventually so keep this in mind. I have made three colored dots in zones where Bitcoin is likely to retrace to if we face a major retracement over the next couple of days.

Major Retracement Levels:

  • Blue dot ($2850)
  • Green dot ($3150)
  • Yellow dot ($3500)

Keep an eye on market movements as this sort of retracement usually occurs over several weeks of sell-offs. Last time it took just over 4 weeks to go from $3,000 down to $1826. The total market cap went from over $116B down to around $61B. If we hit $5K and then have a serious sell-off we could drop down to the $3500 range very easily.

We are still in a bull market but a reversal could happen any day now. Follow my daily price forecasts for indicators as to when this will happen and stay on top of the market conditions :)

*Never invest more than you are willing to lose and always do your own research before making any investment decisions.

Please Remember To: SteemitGif.gif

Sort:  

Remember, though, that sometimes markets go up due to increasing demands. If more and more people -want- it for reasons that are sustained, beyond simple financial speculation, the correction may not be as significant as might be feared(or hoped for).

I think we could in fact hit $7K before year's end but I don't want to get overzealous right now :P

Hi, thank you for the article, I upvoted. I hope there is a correction for the short-term, so I can add more to my position! I am averaging in over time to build up my investment. I was wondering, do you invest in any alt coins ?

I am fully invested in alt-coins in fact. I only keep a very small amount of Bitcoin at any given time. The majority of my portfolio is ZEC right now but I have LTC, XRP, IOTA, ETC, and OMG right now. Alt-coins have MUCH higher and faster returns than Bitcoin ever will. The reason why I do Bitcoin forecasting is because Bitcoin dictates the market conditions.

Thanks for sharing, I have some LTC and ETH(nonclassic) myself.

I agree that a correction is coming but may not last long as crypto-currency continues to move into the mainstream and no longer is "only good for criminals", one of the arguments I've heard against crypto. Great post, I'll be looking forward to more! 7-3's!

We are still at least two years out from mainstream adoption. Bitcoin needs to become MUCH more user friendly for the average person to understand it. Honestly I think that Bitcoin is going to have a hard time in the future holding onto the monopoly it has created. It has the first mover's advantage but it is still too cumbersome and hard to use for many people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84