Bitcoin Network Test (RIDICULOUSLY LOW FEE!)

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Let's test the Bitcoin network today to see if it will pick up an incredibly small fee. The recommended fee was anywhere from 4-8x higher than what I paid.

SmallFeeTest.jpg

I happened to have a very small amount of BTC sitting in an old wallet so why not test out the network and see what happens?

For those of you who do not send BTC very often there are some nuances to it...

Using certain wallets you can actually adjust the fee and set it to whatever you want. There are recommendations as to what the network fee should be usually. In this example I am using blockchain.info to send this BTC.

In the past the Bitcoin network was much less congested and you could send BTC for a very small fee. I remember distinctly that I sent several transactions in the past with a fee of 0.1mBTC (one ten thousandth of a BTC). Back then it was only a few cents but now that is close to 44 cents! So in this transaction I sent it with a ten cent fee (226 satoshis) which was about 1/4 of the recommended lowest fee.

UnconfirmedTxn.jpg

You may be wondering what will happen if the transaction doesn't get confirmed... Well this is basically how it works:

  • The transaction is broadcasted until it gets picked up by the network
  • If the transaction fee is too small or there is no fee attached the transaction may not get picked up by the network
  • The funds will be returned back to the sending address including the fee if it is not transacted within 48 hours

It's not fun when this happens but it is certainly something that happens a lot. Over the summer I sent a transaction with the recommended fee and it took roughly 40 hours to confirm.

I doubt this one will go through but if it does then it will show that people have been paying way too much in fees!

IF time is of the essence then of course you should be sending your transaction with a higher fee but it is not always necessary to send crypto with such high fees.

Let me know what you think in a comment down below :) Also if you would like me to do a price forecast or analysis on a particular coin let me know as well I would be glad to do it!

*Never invest more than you are willing to lose and always do your own research before making any investment decisions.
(All pictures are free domain images from snappygoat.com or created by myself.)

UPDATE!

I sent a second transaction to see what the effect would be. This time with a much higher fee of around $1.43.

UPDATE #2

Second transaction went through but the first one still has not :-/ Guess it will just get refunded!

UPDATE #3

THE TRANSACTION WENT THROUGH AFTER 17 1/2 HOURS!!! I'm very surprised that it actually confirmed considering how low the fee was :)

Sort:  

Great post, i sent a transaction today I thought was high enough, still not confirmed 4 hours later. I'll tried viabtc's transaction accelerator but let's see if that will push it through.

What is funny is that in the past I have just sent a second transaction to the same address with a higher fee and it picked up both at the same time for me.

Do you think it affected the previous transaction or was it just lucky?

I think the network realized that the two fees combined was high enough to transact both but who knows maybe it was a coincidence...

The fees are a big Proglem for Bicoin at the moment , I think price could instantly double if this problem gets solfed ... doubleing the Blocksize like Segwit2x wants to do , could already lower the fee a lot.

Bitcoin fees are ridiculous!!! I always use GDAX to send BTC if I can since they don't charge a transaction fee.

Nice information Bitcoin. Thanks for sharing

good information thank you so much

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Why not just use Bitcoin Cash?

That's like saying why not just turn an apple into an orange. I had Bitcoin and wanted to send Bitcoin. If I had Bitcoin Cash I would have sent that :P

Then you should have Bitcoin Cash too :P

The reason I hate BLOCKCHAIN wallet is if you want to send somewhere payment what is gathered from different small payments you just pay 1/2 in fees. Had no issues with different wallets. It's interesting can I do this with XAPO wallet?

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69