Stop Using Coinbase for Bitcoin and Ethereum Purchases!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

What Do I Have to Do to Convince the Crypto Currency World to Stop Using This Crap Called Coinbase?


Source

All I ever hear is complaints about how shitty the company is and people still want to use it. Does that make sense to you? I used them the first time I bought Bitcoin like many of you? The difference is I did it before Coinbase turned into a flaming pile of crap!

Reasons Why You Should Not Use Coinbase.

  1. Coinbase has been crashing.
  2. Banks have been closing accounts if you buy Bitcoin directly from your account.
  3. Coinbase can close your account at any time.
  4. When Coinbase has issues it hurts the whole Bitcoin market.
  5. I Have a stack of other reasons but I will keep them to myself.

For a Visual Reference.


Source

How do You Buy Bitcoin Without Using Coinbase.

  1. Kraken US Based
    20ca1fb3234c77c2c75eae9c10d374df.png

  2. Crypto Capital Panama Based
    crypto-capital-logo.png

  3. Local Bitcoins Peer to Peer Local.
    localbitcoins.png

  4. Buy from Your Friends. It Really is the Easiest Way.

  5. Earn Steem on Steemit and Trade it for Bitcoin on Bittrex.
    steemit-logo-name.png

I Hope This Post Convinced You to Stop Using Coinbase.

Sometimes it takes losing money or missing an amazing trade to convince people. But heh, I will leave that to you. Experience is the best instructor. For those who live in the USA you guys have a tough road ahead. My best recommendation is to move to a country that values freedom.

Sort:  

Coinbase is definitely struggling these days.

Great use of a Swanson GIF btw

swanson is my spirit animal.

A post always gets extra brownie points from me for Parks n Rec gifs. Side note: Just started using this site, and I love how the gifs just show up without having to click the links (like reddit).

Where is the cheapest fees and reliable?

I lost a lot of money, it's an abuse of coinbase, I switched to coinapult 3 weeks ago @hilarski.
PD: I laugh a lot with your gifs xDDD

I love Coinapult especially since we are friends with the CEO and the founder. Crypto Capital bought Coinapult a few years ago.

I like coinbase for how simple it is to use... however they do suck when bitcoin tanks lol

I agree with you. Coinbase has been trending in the wrong direction. I first used them years ago and bought a decent amount of BTC (they were only selling BTC at the time). Fast forward a few years later, they send me an email asking me what I use my Bitcoins for. I ignored the email and didn't give them any info (I felt that was an invasion or privacy). As a result, they froze my account without notifying me. I couldn't buy/sell BTC. It took about a week of email exchanges for them to unfreeze my account. If our privacy keeps getting infringed, we are going to be living in an Orwellian world.

Agreed, that is an extremely intrusive question, but wasn't it on an optional questionnaire? I started to take a "Customer Satisfaction Survey" type of form but seeing it was full of intrusive questions, just abandoned it. Those kinds of questions come from the banks that are under severe regulation, not free-market institutions at all.

Certainly CB comes under pressure from the "know your customer" type of bank regulation. But they would not willingly offend their clients without that external pressure. Someone out there doesn't want the middle (peasant) class to have any kind of independence at all. It's an undeclared, asymmetrical war on freedom.

And take note, the sage advice is to get your assets off of the exchanges for the long haul.

Wise words. I got into cryptocurrencies (BTC/LTC especially) because I love what they stand for. Decentralized, finite amount, deflationary, anonymity, "be your own bank currency" that puts the power back into the people's hands...away from the central bankers. And yes, it is the banks/IRS that is forcing the hand of Coinbase, so I can't blame Coinbase entirely, but the info they were asking for is completely contradictory to what I believe is the message of cryptos. And yes, I have most of money off the exchanges...around 95%. The other 5% I'm short term trading with.

They are now working for the wrong team in so many ways. Unlike Coinapult they decided to stay in the USA.
Now they are paying for it.

I do not think that you should blame it on Coinbase. They pretty much just follow the rules. It is all about systems and regulations.

So could you research something on buying bitcoin with out the USSA (United Slavelandia States of America) know what your doing. I enjoyed your article but I dont think its any ones business especially a bankrupt GOV knowing your business, oh one last thing I am also a resident of Panama so I am partly out of the USSA system.

That is why I added Crypto Capital which also owns Coinapult here in Panama.

Unfortunately, Kraken verificaiton of anything past tier 1 (so, required to deposit USD) is backed up at least a month at the moment, with no end in sight.

It took approximately 10 days for me to get verified for tier 2

I just got verified last week for tier 1, took 9 days.

My experience was similar. I got nearly instant verification for tier 1, but that didn't let me make a deposit. I submitted all my documents that day, and have emailed support several times, however I am still waiting for verification over a month later.

How can I be anonymous with all these documents ?

Follow me @Yehey

After buying cryptocurrency, convert it to one of the ones that champion privacy on an exchange, send it to a wallet that you're not publicly connected to, and then no one knows who you are.

I have heard that as well. Tough times for folks who still want to use fiat currency.

It's not that folks want to use it, it's that rent has to be paid in fiat.

I'm at a month now as well for Kraken Tier 2 verification.

I am so upset with Coinbase now. Well have been for a long time. I am having a big problem transferring my profits out to bank accounts and they don't respond for days. I am getting very worried something is up. Gemini I never had an issues.

Agreed coinbase = crap stopped using them some time ago. Use Kraken now will check out local bitcoins. Thanks!

Coinbase is so shady!!! I would never buy or store coins on their platform. It is always going down and I have no Idea why because they charge so much in fees lol

UPVOTED

I was having such a great time with turning cash into coins using ExpressCoin, but they have dried up it seems. I really wish I could find someone to replace that service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88