What Bitcoin wallet do you prefer and why?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I think I like my Exodus wallet over any other and I'll tell you why. It doesn't only hold Bitcoin! Rather than have a dozen wallets for a dozen different coin, I like having just the one. I like the deposit sound I hear when coin goes in and I really like the layout and feel.

I only really like the dashboard for the Coinbase wallet really. Having 3 major coins available there is just ok. If Coinbase wanted to attract more customers for holding, they've got to have more coin options available,imo. It's a shame that you can't just buy coin with fiat directly in your Exodus wallet. I have a mini wallet through Coinpot and am not impressed with it either.

The one thing I don't like about the Exodus wallet is that the support for Dogecoins is going away. I can store my Dogecoin with my Coinpot wallet but just don't liek the feel as much as Exodus..

Sort:  

I been using jaxx, exodus, coinomi, and coinbase.
So far my top 2 are jaxx for the mobile wallet and Exodus for the desktop wallet.
Jax is very easy to use, but I have had a few transactions that didn't go through. Took 3 days to get the funds back. I always got my funds and counting service was good.
Exodus has awesome customer service. They reached down a shapeshift transaction that we've bad and got my funds back. I way linked it to myetherwallet and etherdelta. Plus, being that they don't have a mobile wallet, I keep from over trading.
😁

I need to look into the Jaxx wallet - it seems to be growing in popularity but on the other hand, hearing about transactions not going through makes me leary. I've not checked out coinomi either but will do so. Imagine if they did have a mobile wallet! They just added OMG support - woot!

You should really consider buying a hardware wallet like the Trezor or even better the Digital Bitbox to store your funds long term. They have come a long way since the early days and some of them allow storing multiple currencies at once. One wallet essentially means only one thing needs to be hacked/compromised. Are you 100% certain there's not some tiny little malware on your computer (or your phone, or even your USB-lamp) that could possibly steal your private keys or log your keystrokes?

I really don't want to be one of those people who go "Hey please look at my channel just because I left this post here", but since I wrote a short review on the Digital Bitbox hardware wallet recently I might as well suggest it for your reading list:
https://steemit.com/security/@the-tech-guy/hardware-wallet-review-digital-bitbox

Hey, this is great info and I do certainly appreciate the review info and thank you for the link. I'm a computer nerd myself and am constantly running spybot search and destroy and other malware/antiviral software to stay safe BUT the more I see and read about hardware wallets, the more I want to get one.

You really shouldn't store your cryptocurrencies in Exodus for a long time.
Your money can be compromised in case someone hacks into your computer or if you lose your computer since your private keys are stored on your computer.
I personally keep my cryptocurrencies in cold storage, using Electrum and MyEtherWallet.

I am actually looking into cold storage devices at the moment and will certainly take a look at Electrum and MyEtherWallet.

Congratulations @glenhubbardjr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31