Security Alert: Attackers Using Script Injection to Spread Bitcoin-Mining MalwaresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

If you mine Bitcoin from your PC, I recommend being careful because there are chances to see your machine compromised.

I'm sharing this email alert to help fellow Steemians who are into Bitcoin. I did not write it. Heimdal Security staff did.

thumb-bitcoinmalware.jpg

Security researchers discovered a spam campaign related to Bitcoin cryptocurrency that is impacting a lot of websites. What is actually happens is that malicious actors try to inject a malicious script into various WordPress, Joomla, and jBoss legitimate websites.

Read our recent security alert and learn how hackers can misuse the PC’s CPU to access users’ computers and mine Bitcoin.

Also, we included a protection guide to consider using. More details here: https://heimdalsecurity.com/blog/security-alert-attackers-using-script-injection-to-spread-bitcoin-mining-malware/

If you found this post after day 7,
please consider upvoting a recent article

Read more from Gary

Health disclosure: I'm not a medical expert which is why I provide links to source material. My goal is to share information that can enhance the health of our readers (that's you -- and your loved ones).

Sort:  

Good to know. Not sure how you protect your wordpress site other than rely on your hosting partner to keep their SW up to date.

Great question, Hermit.
I use WordFence, a security plugin which comes in a free and a premium version.

I also use Shield. There's a 2-factor login option you can turn on inside Shield (also free) which wont let me login without entering the character string it sends to my email every time I want to login. That character string expires in 5 minutes, too. It slows the login process down but compared to the time drain when I've had to fix a hacked site, this is a minor inconvenience.

Gary

Also, I set WordFence to autoupdate both itself and WP.
Gary

Fraud happens everywhere.

We have to be on our toes, so to speak.

Gary

I guess it's only natural that there'll be spammers hooking into bitcoin. It's the way of the internet now and we all have to be careful.

Goodness this whole internet thing makes me so nervous and then there are always criminals to also worry about

...which is why it's important to use browser security apps to protect yourself from at least some of the online risks. One I use that's free (with a premium upsell if you want it) is Heimdal. https://heimdalsecurity.com/en/

Gary

I miss the good old days of pen and paper

We were just talking about that today. In years to come, will people be able to get out hand written letters that their parents / loved ones / teenage loves / grandparents / etc gave them, to reminisce warmly about "the good old days"?

Not when it's all digital. It'll be a loss.

Thanks for commenting, @anneke.

Gary

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65