Would you buy this Subaru STi for 1.75 bitcoin?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I have a strange habit of browsing the classifieds looking at cars for sale that I already own. In this case, I already own a 2012 Subaru STi (the sedan), but this advert caught my attention. Why? Well, it's the first one locally where someone is mentioning crypto as a payment option.

Screen Shot 2018-01-29 at 10.41.35 AM.png

This rather brave individual is selling his beloved 10 year-old STi for the grand sum of...1.75 bitcoin - around $20,000 USD. Who would have thought a few years ago that nearly 2 bitcoins would be able to buy you this?

Why he just doesn't take his price in regular FIAT and exchange that to Bitcoin, I don't know. Regardless, the price is a bit too high (in my opinion), for the year make and mileage, no matter what modifications have been done. On the "bright" side, if Bitcoin crashes suddenly, maybe you can still hold him to the original price of 1.75 bitcoin.

View the original advert here

Parts installed:

Perrin Intake Hose 3"
Perrin FPR
Perrin Radiator Shroud
Perrin Pulley Cover
Perrin Rear Diff Lockdown Kit
Perrin Subframe Lockdown Kit
Cobb 3 Port BCS
Cobb Intake + Heat Shield
Mishimoto Radiator + Hoses + Thermostat
Process West TMIC
Manley Turbo Tuff Pistons
Manley Turbo Tuff H-Beam Rods
ARP Headstud Kit
ACL Race Bearings
OEM Nitrided Crankshaft
OEM EJ25 STi Shortblock
OEM Gaskets (Complete)
Pyro Performance Blank Off Plates
Pyro Performance Custom Turbo-Back Exhaust
Pyro Performance ECU Tuning
Replica Front Lip
OEM Side Extenions
OEM Rain Guards
HT Auto Rear Skirts
OEM BBS 18" Wheels
Powerbrake Discs + EBC pads
Mishimoto Lug Nuts (Black)
Cobb Short Shifter + Bushes
Beatrush Gear Knob
In.Focus Gear Lever Boot
Sony Double Din Headunit

$_20_3.jpg

$_20_2.jpg

FOLLOW ME HERE!
https://discord.gg/PhqmBdD

Sort:  

Reminds me, my local Craigslist allows you to search purely by people willing to accept cryptocurrency as payment. It's kinda surprising how many there are. Everything from a $600 (or like less than a tenth of a Bitcoin) beater late 90's Malibu all the way to brand new luxury pickup trucks sold by dealerships, yes, the dealerships here are even accepting it!

That sounds awesome! It's really interesting to see how crypto is starting to get embraced by more mainstream dealerships / users. Down on this side of the world, we pretty much only use Gumtree as our local classifieds site (there are a few other smaller ones, but nothing the size of Craigslist). I only know of one dealership willing to take Bitcoin or Ethereum as payment here, so I guess south Africa still has a long way to go.

seems to be the new trend. everyone is selling for BTC these days. great post

Thanks @kbakadave. I'm happy to buy smaller things for BTC, but the volatility is still a bit too much for me to justify a purchase of this amount. Imagine if you'd bought this car just before the market dived earlier in January :P

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63091.92
ETH 2469.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67