The Crypto Coffee Can Portfolio

in #bitcoin7 years ago

What if you had $10,000 to invest in cryptocurrencies today, and you couldn’t touch that investment for 10 years. What cryptos would you invest in?

The idea comes from the stock market. You invest in a few stocks. Then leave it alone for a decade or two or three. Here’s a good story on a stock coffee can portfolio.

Without further ado here’s my crypto coffee can portfolio.

Bitcoin is the longest, most secure public blockchain. It’s also a store of value and the pricing mechanism for all cryptocurrencies. I like to back it up with some litecoin, a proven testing ground.

Ethereum is the top smart contract platform. It’s got the development support, the EEA, and 50+ other tokens operating on top. I like to back it up with some Ethereum Classic, the immutable original.

I rounded out the portfolio with 10% each in Dash and Antshares (now NEO). Everyone still talks about it as a privacy coin but I like it as a payment coin. And Antshares is the Ethereum of China.

What do you think?

What would you put in your crypto coffee can portfolio?


For more articles on cryptocurrencies follow me @g-dubs.
Buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin at Coinbase.
Mine with Genesis – use code jWxfye for 3% off
Donate to the cause:
BTC - 1PPKMT8XXjByqiTZP7rDt74PoLzFqDJtA6
ETH – 0x37b355299c18574eb0422e8563afa0d1232cfccd
LTC - LPa4dc5hX5YzAeLT7nRQ86FDbayTEWPyUG
DASH - XhFeGe65EyA3PajDDEQr8deTrV5bUcBkmg
XCP - 1Nm7z4uC3myy4agYQrckJax7Do3YzUaBNV
Check out LBRY
The Dent token sale runs to July 26.

Sort:  

i would do LTC BTC ANS ZEC DASH

I considered ZEC but need to learn more first.

I would definitely add some WAVES :-)

Nice choice. I do own some WAVES. Sasha always making moves.

Indeed, quite active :-)

Mine would be all ORANGE lol

Well that shows a high degree of confidence! But yea hard not to like ETH.

It's always interesting to think about it like this, similar to going long with stocks. It would follow that diversifying into even more altcoins might produce better returns, similar to investing in ETFs, but since crypto is new and exciting, and still constantly evolving, it will be fascinating to look back in 10+ years and see the results. Thanks for sharing!

You bring up a good point, might might sense to add something like ICN or TAAS or invest in a token fund so it keeps up w the changes, plus exposure to more alts.

I think it's a good idea to consider now, because we'll most likely see funds get approved for ETFs that track cryptocurrencies, similar to the effort to get a Bitcoin ETF that got denied by the SEC earlier this year. So having the physical coins now will be more profitable, because by the time the ETFs get approved, we may not see such high swings in the prices of the various coins.

@g-dubs got you a $1.78 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@g-dubs got you a $1.78 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

You are missing EOS, if it manages to beat ETH that would be a big blow, otherwise nice portfolio...I would include a small portion for Steem and LBRY as well!

I like LBRY, not sold on EOS even though its a Larimer project. A year long token sale, no alpha yet, I think it'll go lower eventually.

It's funny actually I am basically in that same situation right now. Although I am waiting for August 1st before I move most likely. My split is quite different than yours.

20% BTC/day trading
10% XVG
10%DGB
35%ANS
15%XRP
10%Steem power up

Interesting. I keep seeing Verge pop up, I'll have to check it out. I have some DGB but it didn't make the coffee can. I'm very bullish on SP too, but even more so if your an active user, so that's why I left it out. XRP big upside if it works.

Honestly I think a little bit of my attachment to DGB is more pumpy than it should be. I do think it has potential for adoption but do I see it in 10 years. I'm not so sure. I just think in the short/medium term it should be good for at least 50% . XVG is for sure worth a look. Looking to be the next darknet currency.

Litecoin :)

Litecoin!

Hi, great article, I hope you don't think of me as spam I'm just trying to spread the word.

FREE NLC2!
The launch of the soccer fantasy sports is in 12 of august.
Right now you can register on http://cryptofantasysports.com and get FREE 100 NLC2, you have however to play the game come August to withdraw, so you might end up with more NLC2 if you play fantasy soccer well 😉.

I Need more study about this topic... thank you for sharing @g-dubs

Make sure to follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76