Checking Out Decentralized Exchanges… Waves (WAVES)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Continuing on the theme of decentralized exchanges, today I’m writing about the Waves Platform.

My other posts on decentralized exchange plays include Komodo, Blocknet, Binance Loopring, KyberNetwork and Project 0x.

The platform was developed by Russian physicist Sasha Ivanov in 2016. It’s an open-source blockchain that features a wallet, decentralized exchange, and token launch platform.

Previous to Waves Sasha was involved in the NXT cryptocurrency platform and Waves was designed to overcome the shortcomings of that platform.

Waves uses a PoS consensus model like NXT but uses Waves-nG, which was adapted from Bitcoin-NG and enables high transaction volumes and fast confirmation times.

This project has been around for a while. The token sale was held in April and May of 2016 when Waves was able to raise roughly 30,000 bitcoin, worth around $16 million at the time.

There’s a total supply of 100,000,000 WAVES and the WAVE token is used for fees. Transfer fees cost 0.001 WAVES, decentralized exchange fees cost 0.003 WAVES and it cost 1 WAVE to issue a token.

The main features of the Waves platform are the gateways, decentralized exchange, and token issuance platform.
Over 2017 Waves launched gateways for credit cards, a Euro gateway, a US dollar gateway, an Ether gateway, and gateways for Litecoin and Zcash.

To date nine projects have launched their token on Waves. The largest by far was MobileGo (MGO), the virtual marketplace for gaming items. The second largest is ZrCoin (ZRC), a Russian project for producing synthetic zircoinium.

With consistent progress in 2017 early investors have been rewarded.

Waves launched its decentralized exchange in [April 2017]. You can use it right now by downloading the mobile or Chrome app.

Right now it does about $500,000 in daily volume. Not bad but very small in the grand scheme of things.

I’ve used it. It’s not bad but it’s not great either. If it were more user friendly I could see adoption growing.

What do you think of Waves?


For more on cryptos follow me @g-dubs and on SteemFollower

Buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin at Coinbase

Mine with Genesis – use code jWxfye for 3% off

Buy, sell, and trade cryptos on Binance

Borrow against your cryptos at Salt

Sort:  

Actually there are a few of ppl is using waves platform...

True. How does it go from few to many?

Thank you very much @g-dubs for this information. I and my partner are actually considering waves for our project. On a personal note, would you be kind enough to assist if you're called upon? Thanks

Sounds interesting, sure.

Its quite few people using waves
And I am one of them

I made a coin in waves also
It's verified, the redfishcoin!
If ever you like to buy at dex, you will be helping to broaden the community
Please take a visit!

I've been using waves for 4months now and its incredibly easy! I issued my own token (squashcoins, if you wanna buy some). Also I recomend investing in $OCL, a Tech Incubator inside Waves. Their roadmap is very solid.

Yeah the exchange volume is still very low, but the comission are nice ... only 0.003 Waves, no matter your volume! This can put some big exchanges out of business in the future.

Also, I sugest you search about leasing Waves inside of the platform. Very cool!

Cheers!

Very cool. I'll check it out.

great post man, I think it could do well, I prefer cryptos under 1$ however, might have to re-think waves thanks man

@g-dubs,

Enjoyed your post - as usual.

Salutations.

JaiChai here.

RE: WAVES

This is yet another crypto that I suffer severe non-buyers remorse over!

I could've got in on the pre-sale, but I balked - damnit.

You've made me think about revisiting WAVES; now that they are somewhat more mature and proven.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

I have a few like that too!

@g-dubs good to know more about waves. I will start researching a bit more about it. As always a new quality post from you to continue learning from crypto opportunities. upvoted. @gold84

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @g-dubs
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @g-dubs to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 6.96 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @g-dubs. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 3.47 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @g-dubs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66960.97
ETH 3088.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72